Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Billy Gibbons And The BFG's - Perfectamundo Vinyl LP + Download - direct audio

Billy Gibbons And The BFG's - Perfectamundo Vinyl LP + Download

Concord Records

  • $ 2198

Billy Gibbons And The BFG's Perfectamundo Vinyl LP + Download

Debut Solo Album from ZZ Top Legend Billy Gibbons

Perfectamundo is the debut solo album from Billy Gibbons, ZZ Top guitarist/vocalist and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee, who is backed by a handpicked group of musicians dubbed The BFG's. As the title may suggest, the album takes on a bit of an Afro-Cuban flavor that may come as a surprise to some Gibbons fans and followers.

Even before the blues-rock/hard-rock great's first recordings back in 1967 with the Moving Sidewalks, his legendary pre-ZZ Top Houston psyche-punk garage band, Gibbons studied Latin percussion in Manhattan with none other than its preeminent virtuoso, "Mambo King" Tito Puente, a friend of Billy's bandleader dad. Puente taught the young Gibbons the essential Latin rhythms via conga, bongo, maracas and, most importantly, timbales. "Banging away on ‘em came back like riding on a lost bicycle," Gibbons relates of his return to the genre by way of Perfectamundo.

But the concept for Perfectamundo, which was produced by Gibbons and Joe Hardy and recorded in Houston, Los Angeles, Austin and Pontevedra, Spain, originated with Gibbons' invitation to perform at the 2014 Havana Jazz Festival, delivered by his Argentine-born, Puerto Rico-raised friend and musical collaborator Martin Guigui. While he was unable to make it to Cuba, Billy did commence exploring the potential for an Afro-Cuban inflected album project at his Houston studio.

There's even some hip-hop courtesy of Houston's Garza, aka Alx Guitarzza, which surfaces on the title track, "You're What's Happenin', Baby" and "Quiero Mas Dinero." Other standout cuts include "Pickin' Up Chicks on Dowling Street," which is pure Billy Gibbons; the mysterious "Hombre Sin Nombre," the hard rock "Piedras Negras," and the smoking B3-stoked, almost instrumental album closer "Q-Vo." And Gibbons turns to a Houston classic of another sort in his simmering and slyly percussive cover of Roy Head's horns-fueled 1965 hit "Treat Her Right."

Billy Gibbons And The BFG's Perfectamundo Track Listing:

1. Got Love If You Want It
2. Treat Her Right
3. You're What's Happenin', Baby
4. Sal Y Pimiento
5. Pickin' Up Chicks On Dowling Street
6. Hombre Sin Nombre
7. Quiero Mas Dinero
8. Baby Please Don't Go
9. Piedras Negras
10. Perfectamundo
11. Q-Vo

We Also Recommend