We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Vashti Bunyan - Just Another Diamond Day Vinyl LP

Vashti Bunyan - Just Another Diamond Day Vinyl LP

Dicristina Stair Records

  • $ 1898

Vashti Bunyan Just Another Diamond Day Vinyl LP

Vashti Bunyan's Highly Sought After 1970 Pastoral Folk Album Produced by Joe Boyd and featuring Members of Fairport Convention & Incredible String Band; Includes Four Bonus Tracks, Book of Lyrics and Artwork Updated by Vashti Herself

Ejected from art school in 1964 for failing to choose between writing songs and painting, Vashti Bunyan was found by Andrew Loog Oldham singing her songs in London. She was given a Jagger-Richards song to record as a single for Decca and a year later she released a single on Columbia. She went on to record further tracks for the Immediate Label, which remain unreleased. Vashti intended to leave the music business and the city behind for good when she started off for the outer limits of northern Britain in 1968 with a horse and a wagon, heading for the promised land.

The songs were written over two summers and one winter of travelling. After a chance meeting that winter with Derroll Adams (noted Woody Guthrie era folksinger and banjo player) who told her not to "hide her light under a bushel," Vashti took the songs of her journey to Joe Boyd. A year later he recorded Just Another Diamond Day, inviting Robin Williamson of the Incredible String Band, and Dave Swarbrick and Simon Nicol (who also played on Nick Drake's records) from Fairport Convention to accompany Vashti on some tracks.

The album was released late in 1970 to little attention. The music was abandoned by the singer in favor of further horse journeys and complete obscurity. However, over the years all the recordings have succeeded in finding their own way to the notice of music collectors. The master tape of the album lay in a London warehouse for thirty years before being unwisely taken across the city in an underground train and getting wet in a raging thunderstorm, but has survived almost intact. The four additional on this edition are from well traveled old vinyl, acetate demos, and home recorded tape.

Vashti Bunyan Just Another Diamond Day Track Listing:

1. Just Another Diamond Day
2. Glow Worms
3. Lily Pond
4. Timothy Grub
5. Where I Like to Stand
6. Swallow Song
7. Window Over the Bay
8. Rose Hip November
9. Come Wind Come Rain
10. Hebridean Sun
11. Rainbow River
12. Trawlerman's Song
13. Jog Along Bess
14. Iris's Song for Us

We Also Recommend