We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Vic Chesnutt - Ghetto Bells 180g Vinyl 2LP

Vic Chesnutt - Ghetto Bells 180g Vinyl 2LP

New West Records

  • $ 3098

Vic Chesnutt Ghetto Bells180g Vinyl 2LP

Ghetto Bells matches the poetic power of Vic Chesnutt's words with some of the most elegantly simpatico backing he’s ever been blessed with, including jazz icon Bill Frisell on guitars, legendary writer, arranger and multi-instrumentalist Van Dyke Parks on piano, accordion and organ, Don Heffington of Lone Justice and the Jayhawks on drums and percussion, classically trained session-man Dominic Genova on double bass, Tina Chesnutt on electric bass and Liz Durrett on exquisite backing vocals. At the time, Vic Chesnutt had released a dozen albums in 15 years.

Ghetto Bells has a powerful resonance that reveals itself slowly. A pair of seven-minute pieces are the heart of the album, both moving forward slowly, but ever so purposefully. One of them, "Rambunctious Cloud", is further sweetened by the presence of Van Dyke Parks on accordion and a staggering guitar solo from Bill Frisell.

"These songs are ultimately and admirably patient and fluid, building not to grandiloquent climaxes but to a greater and greater complexity of meaning." – Pitchfork

"The songs are all-encompassing. They sweep you up. They really get to you." – Washington Post


• Limited Time HD download
• First time on vinyl
• 3 bonus tracks: 2 demos and 1 unreleased track

Vic Chesnutt Ghetto Bells Track Listing:


1. Virginia
2. Little Caesar
3. What Do You Mean?
4. Got To Me
5. Ignorant People
6. Forthright
7. To Be With You


1. Vesuvius
2. Rambunctious Cloud
3. The Garden
4. Gnats
5. Vesuvius (Demo)*
6. Forthright (Demo)*
7. Prevails (Demo)*

*Bonus Tracks

We Also Recommend