We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Vic Chesnutt - Silver Lake 180g Vinyl 2LP

Vic Chesnutt - Silver Lake 180g Vinyl 2LP

New West Records

  • $ 3098

Vic Chesnutt Silver Lake 180g Vinyl 2LP

At the time 2003's Silver Lake was recorded, you could count on two things with Vic Chesnutt: he would approach any topic, from the delicate to the mundane and he would take an unexpected angle. With an incisive eye and razor wit, he would always cut straight to the heart of the matter. He did so to great effect on Silver Lake, giving equal weight to the tender affirmation of "In My Way, Yes" and the scathing self-critique of "Styrofoam," and applying his delightfully odd spin to the standard love story on both "Band Camp" (a funny, nostalgic tale of romance in the high school horn section) and the Brian Wilson homage "Fa-La-La" (a saga of unanswered longing that's set in a hospital).

Chesnutt's idiosyncratic quaver and nylon-string strum are abetted throughout by generous rock and soul arrangements, all of which were pristinely recorded by Daniel Lanois protege Mark Howard (who also produced Lucinda Williams's World Without Tears).

"Chesnutt's stories always strike an honest and recognizable emotional chord, no matter how oddball the situations that surround them." - All Music

"Vic Chesnutt might never be famous, but his songs touch on inner truths that lurk around us. They strike something deep inside their listeners' beings." - Pop Matters

Vic Chesnutt Silver Lake Track Listing:


1. I’m Through
2. Stay Inside
3. Band Camp
4. Girls Say
5. 2nd Floor
6. Styrofoam
7. Zippy Morocco
8. Sultan, So Mighty


1. Wren’s Nest
2. Fa-La-La
3. In My Way, Yes
4. Stay Inside (Demo)*
5. Girls Say (Demo)*
6. Band Camp (Demo)*
7. Aunt Avis (Demo)*

*Bonus Tracks

We Also Recommend