We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Wayne Shorter - Night Dreamer Vinyl LP - direct audio

Wayne Shorter - Night Dreamer Vinyl LP

Blue Note Records

  • $ 1998

Wayne Shorter Night Dreamer Vinyl LP

Remastered and Reissued As Part of the Blue Note 75th Anniversary Vinyl Reissue Campaign

With some musicians, it is obvious from the start that they are going to make a major impact on jazz. Wayne Shorter had only been with Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers for a short time when Miles Davis made him an offer to join his group, although he would not join until 1964. By then he had been with Blakey for four years and developed his own unique musical language and logic, both as a tenor-saxophonist and as a composer.

Shortly before joining Davis, Shorter recorded his first Blue Note album, Night Dreamer, in a quintet also featuring Lee Morgan, McCoy Tyner and Elvin Jones. Listening to this brilliant set makes it obvious why Davis wanted Shorter. A very distinctive soloist, Shorter contributes five highly original pieces (including "Virgo" and "Black Nile") plus a version of "Oriental Folk Song." His playing does not fit into any particular style and his writing does not hint at any of his predecessors. Night Dreamer shows that by 1964, Wayne Shorter was a jazz master.


Lee Morgan (trumpet)
Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone)
McCoy Tyner (piano)
Reggie Workman (bass)
Elvin Jones (drums)


• Remastered and reissued as part of the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign
• Vinyl initiative spearheaded by current Blue Note Records President, Don Was, to include 100 essential Blue Note albums
• Includes special Blue Note 75 vinyl sleeve that features album cover art for 75 Blue Note titles
• First run of vinyl to include Blue Note 75th logo on back of package
• Key to the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign is the creation of high quality audio at an affordable price
• Blue Note will celebrate their iconic artists and the history of the label with various events, digital initiatives, vinyl campaigns and more

Wayne Shorter Night Dreamer Track Listing:

1. Night Dreamer
2. Oriental Folk Song
3. Virgo
4. Black Nile
5. Charcoal Blues
6. Armageddon

We Also Recommend