We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Windy City Blues 1935-1953 - Various Artists Vinyl LP - direct audio

Windy City Blues 1935-1953 - Various Artists Vinyl LP

Nighthawk Records

  • $ 1898

Windy City Blues 1935-1953 Various Artists Vinyl LP

This first issue of Nighthawk Records primarily documents the transitional work of Southern born bluesmen who immigrated to Chicago before the Second World War, but whose careers endured into the postwar era. The lure of the major studios and the easy availability of club work on the growing South side made the Windy City the natural destination of talented blues musicians and the local blues scene was firmly established by the late-20s when the vanguard included Tampa Red, Big Bill, and Georgia Tom.

The '30s brought Sonny Boy Williamson, Robert Nighthawk, Washboard Sam and Memphis Minnie while the '40s produced Robert Lockwood, Johnny Shines and Muddy Waters. Windy City Blues 1935-1953 comes complete with full liner notes and photos.

Windy City Blues 1935-1953 Various Artists Track Listing:

1. Aaron 'Pinetop' Sparks - Every Day I Have the Blues
2. State Street Boys - Sweet to Mama
3. Washboard Sam - Easy Ridin' Mama
4. Robert Lee McCoy - Prowlin' Nighthawk
5. Sonny Boy Williamson - Sunnyland
6. Sonny Boy Williamson - My Little Cornelius
7. Robert Lockwood - Black Spider Blues
8. Robert Lockwood - I'm Gonna Train My Baby
9. Guitar Pete Franklin - Down Behind the Rise
10. Guitar Pete Franklin - Casey Brown Blues
11. Tampa Red - Green and Lucky Blues
12. Robert Lockwood - Gonna Dig Myself a Hole
13. Robert Lockwood - Dust My Broom
14. Tony Hollins - Fishin' Blues
15. Tony Hollins - Wino Woman
16. Johnny Shines - Please Don't

We Also Recommend