We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
 Yoko Ono - Approximately Infinite Universe Vinyl 2LP

Yoko Ono - Approximately Infinite Universe Vinyl 2LP

Secretly Canadian Records

  • $ 2798

Yoko Ono Approximately Infinite Universe Vinyl 2LP

Limited time download card includes bonus track

There’s a fury at the core of Yoko Ono’s 1973 rock opus Approximately Infinite Universe that was not apparent on previously recorded efforts. Ono has always been a master of turning pain and sadness into art, but here, there’s a clenched-fist intensity that sets it apart in her deep, unparalleled catalogue. Ono is angry. She proved that one can carry a boundless love for humanity and still be furious — furious at male/female relationships, at war, at your partner. Meanwhile, on a sonic level, Ono ups the ante on the more centered rock-n-roll sounds she approached with 1971’s Fly.

The album is one of the most traditional-sounding rock chapters in Ono's sprawling catalogue. There are moments here that absolutely rival Jersey legends the E Street Band, though of course Ono’s vision leads her band down darker, more mystical paths than the E Street Band ever dared tread. Approximately Infinite Universe is an essential and progressive piece of Ono’s output, both in the advancements she made as a songwriter/conceptualist, and as a solidified statement of her staunch feminist role within the very male-dominated mainstream rock ghetto of the mid-1970's.

Yoko Ono Approximately Infinite Universe Track Listing:


1. Yang Yang
2. Death of Samantha
3. I Want My Love To Rest Tonight
4. What Did I Do!
5. Have You Seen A Horizon Lately
6. Approximately Infinite Universe
7. Peter the Dealer
8. Song For John
9. Catman (The Rosies Are Coming)
10. What A Bastard The World Is
11. Waiting For the Sunrise


1. I Felt Like Smashing My Face In A Clear Glass Window
2. Winter Song
3. Kite Song
4. What A Mess
5. Shiranakatta (I Didn't Know)
6. Air Talk
7. I Have A Woman Inside My Soul
8. Move On Fast
9. Now Or Never
10. Is Winter Here To Stay?
11. Looking Over From My Hotel Window
Bonus Track via Download Card (limited time):
12. Dogtown

We Also Recommend