We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Ringo Starr - What's My Name on CD - direct audio

Ringo Starr - What's My Name on CD

Universal Records

  • $ 1398

Ringo Starr What's My Name on CD

Ringo Starr's 20th Studio Album featuring John Lennon Cover with Paul McCartney Plus Guest Appearances by Joe Walsh, Edgar Winter, Dave Stewart, Benmont Tench, Steve Lukather, Nathan East, Colin Hay, Richard Page, Warren Ham, Windy Wagner & Kari Kimmel!

World-famous drummer, vocalist and songwriter Ringo Starr delivers his 20th solo studio album, What's My Name. Like its recent predecessors, 2015's Postcards From Paradise and 2017's Give More Love, it was produced in his home studio, Roccabella West. The new 10-track collection features a guest appearance by Paul McCartney as well as contributions from other friends such as Joe Walsh, Edgar Winter, Dave Stewart, Benmont Tench, Steve Lukather, Nathan East, Colin Hay, Richard Page, Warren Ham, Windy Wagner and Kari Kimmel.

"I don't want to be in an old-fashioned recording studio anymore, really," says Ringo. "I've had enough of the big glass wall and the separation. We are all together in here, whoever I invite over. This is the smallest club in town. And I love it, being at home, being able to say hi to Barb, it's just been good for me and the music."

The album's emotional center is found in Starr's heartfelt version of "Grow Old With Me," the moving ballad written by John Lennon – especially as it features their mutual great friend Paul McCartney. The lyric is made all the more poignant by the fact that Lennon never lived to fulfill its title with Yoko Ono, whereas Ringo has been married to Barbara since 1981. "I'm still living that dream," he says. The inspiration for the "Grow Old With Me" cover came when Starr ran into celebrated producer Jack Douglas, who oversaw Lennon and Ono's Double Fantasy album, among many other famous recordings.

"Jack asked if I ever heard The Bermuda Tapes, John's demos from that time," explains Ringo. "And I had never heard all this. The idea that John was talking about me in that time before he died, well, I'm an emotional person. And I just loved this song. I sang it the best that I could. I do well up when I think of John this deeply.

The other good thing is that I really wanted Paul to play on it, and he said yes. Paul came over and he played bass and sings a little bit on this with me. So John's on it in a way. I'm on it and Paul's on it. It's not a publicity stunt. This is just what I wanted. And the strings that Jack arranged for this track, if you really listen, they do one line from [George Harrison's] ‘Here Comes The Sun.' So in a way, it's the four of us."

What's My Name features another nod towards Ringo's Beatles past in a new cover of Barrett Strong's early Motown gem "Money (That's What I Want)," which the group recorded, with Lennon's lead vocal, on With The Beatles. Other album highlights include "Gotta Get Up To Get Down," written by Starr with his brother-in-law and longtime collaborator Joe Walsh. "I've been making music with Joe long before we became brothers," says Ringo. "And we were having dinner with Klaus Voorman months ago, and for whatever, I said, ‘Well, you've got to get up to get down.' Joe and I looked at each other and said ‘We know that's the title, so let's write a song about it.' That's how it is."

Ringo Starr What's My Name Track Listing:

1. Gotta Get Up To Get Down
2. It's Not Love That You Want
3. Grow Old With Me
4. Magic
5. Money
6. Better Days
7. Life Is Good
8. Thank God For Music
9. Send Love Spread Peace
10. What's My Name

We Also Recommend