top of page
Beck - Sea Change Numbered Gold CD

Beck Sea Change Numbered Gold CD 


The Golden Age is Upon Us: This 24k Gold Disc is The Definitive Version of Beck's Modern Classic


Named 2009 Recording of the Year by TONE Audio, Includes Bonus Track Not on MoFi's 180g 2LP Edition


Beck's Sea Change remains the best record of the indie icon's career. And how. The sonic chameleon shocked the world in 2002 with this warm-sounding folk-pop album – a sincere, honest, and mature meditation on the end of a nine-year relationship with his girlfriend. As for the vocalist's trademark irony, sarcasm, and humor? Not here.


In their place is an affecting emotionalism to which anyone who's ever been in (or out) of love will relate. The music is equally personal and meditative. Gorgeous string arrangements come courtesy of his father, David Campbell, and illustrate the heartbreak that informs the beautiful melodies and tranquil moods.


Best of all, this album is anything but a bummer. Intending to be heard to from start to finish, Beck begins the record with songs conveying emptiness and loss, and gradually moves on to narratives that detail what changes are necessary to regain a sense of identity, purpose, and feeling. By the time he reaches the concluding "Little One," the healing has begun. Consider this Beck's mellowest gold – a feat confirmed by its selection as the #2 record of 2002 on Village Voice's all-encompassing Pazz & Jop poll.


And now, thanks to truly painstaking remastering efforts, this embraceable and intimate gem sounds better than ever. No lie. Master tapes of every cut were delivered to Mobile Fidelity engineers on a separate reel, with the finished product taking months to perfect. Unlike previous digital versions, no compression or dynamic processing was used, making this 24k Gold CD not just the definitive version – it's the only digital version worth owning.


"I'm not even a huge Beck fan, but this record (especially the LP) is the blueprint of how a great rock record should sound. Huge, expansive soundstage and super smooth sound. The CD sounds better than the original LP, and the LP takes you to straight to heaven the instant you set the stylus on the record."


– Jeff Dorgay, TONE Audio, Issue 25

This 24K Gold CD from Mobile Fidelity is the absolute definitive digital version of this title. Get the lowest possible numbered pressing of this highly collectible release.


Beck Sea Change Track Listing:


1. The Golden Age
2. Paper Tiger
3. Guess I'm Doin' Fine
4. Lonesome Tears
5. Lost Cause
6. End Of The Day
7. It's All In Your Mind
8. Round The Bend
9. Already Dead
10. Sunday Sun
11. Little One
12. Side Of The Road
13. Ship In A Bottle (Bonus Track)

Beck - Sea Change Numbered Gold CD

SKU: 821797078061
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page