top of page
Bob Dylan - New Morning Numbered Hybrid SACD

Bob Dylan New Morning Numbered Hybrid SACD


Phenomenally Open Sound: New Morning Has Never Enjoyed Better Fidelity

The album might have saved Bob Dylans career. At the least, it proved the icon still relevant, and his wits still in tact. And it immediately followed what remains the artists biggest disaster, the yet-unexplained and forever puzzling Self Portrait, a nearly unlistenable attempt that caused many to wonder whether Dylan had lost his mind.


If intended as a joke, it bombed, making the sublime New Morning all the more important to restore faith in the singer’s creativity and songwriting prowess. It did all this and more, and stands as his finest studio effort during a five-year span.


Mastered on Mobile Fidelitys world-renowned mastering system, this incredible SACD version spotlights the open, woozy sound that welcomes wholeheartedly Dylans piano, several eager guitars, female background singers, Al Koopers organ, and snappy drumming into a world of their own.


New Morning remains one of Dylans loosest and jovial affairs, the instruments retaining an off-the-cuff sensibility relating to a nightclub atmosphere or live stage feel. On this reissue, notes naturally dangle and fade, allowing the playful vibes and humor to come through like never before. Consequently, the album can be experienced with a new perspective.


Many of the songs seem to have been made up on the spot, with confidence in the ability of first-rate musicians to move in any direction at any time, wrote Dylan expert and cultural critic Greil Marcus in his original review for the New York Times. The riffs, inventions, and studio jams of New Morning have their own personality...the full joy of anticipating the right move and the exhilaration of hitting it square and bouncing off a chord into a new lyric.


These observations hold true today, for the 1970 effort claims a daring flair Dylan rarely exhibited on albums before or since. Enthusiasm and excitement surround his singing, and his work on the 88s underlines the liberating arrangements. Offbeat and eclectic, the record frolics and swings, with the Bard and his crack band pursuing jazzy steps (Sign on the Window), shuffling spoken-word experiments (If Dogs Run Free), and soulful rock (The Man In Me, used to wonderful and prominent effect in the Coen Brothers film The Big Lebowski).


Bob Dylan New Morning Track Listing:


1. If Not for You
2. Day of the Locusts
3. Time Passes Slowly
4. Went to See the Gypsy
5. Winterlude
6. If Dogs Run Free
7. New Morning
8. Sign on the Window
9. One More Weekend
10. The Man In Me
11. Three Angels
12. Father of Night

Bob Dylan - New Morning Numbered Hybrid SACD

SKU: 821797212762
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page