top of page
Brian Setzer - Gotta Have The Rumble Vinyl LP

Brian Setzer Gotta Have The Rumble Vinyl LP


"Obviously, it's a reference to my motorcycles and hot rods, something that hasn't changed since I was 15 years old," says Grammy-winning songwriter/vocalist Brian Setzer about his new 2021 album Gotta Have The Rumble. "I still have the same passion for going fast and adrenaline. But it's also about my hearing problem with tinnitus — the ringing of the ear.


Gotta Have The Rumble is the first solo album in seven years from the founder/leader of the Stray Cats, plus his 19-piece Brian Setzer Orchestra. The album has already hit No. 1 on Amazon's Music Hard Rock chart. The album contains 11 original songs.


"It (tinnitus) was pretty bad, and I realized that I couldn't play the way I wanted to. As I recovered, standing in front of a small amplifier just didn't cut it. The sound from my big amp makes the guitar rumble. Which is a big part of my sound. I was really despondent for a while because I thought I wouldn't be able to do that again. So, Gotta Have The Rumble refers to both of those things," Setzer says.


The album was was recorded in Minneapolis (Setzer's adopted hometown) and Nashville. Gotta Have The Rumble is a red-hot album from start to finish — American music amped up to 10 — with songs that are full of dynamism and bravado. Highlights include "Checkered Flag," "Smash Up On Highway One," "Drip Drop," "The Cat with 9 Wives," "One Bad Habit" and "Rockabilly Banjo."


Of the song "Smash Up on Highway One," Setzer says, "I usually start out with a guitar riff. I was playing ‘Misirlou' by Dick Dale with the Stray Cats, and I thought, ‘wow I'd love to write something as cool as that riff.' So I came up with something out of left field. I don't know what you would call it-Middle Eastern or Eastern-European.


Brian Setzer Gotta Have The Rumble Track Listing:


1. Checkered Flag
2. Smash Up On Highway One
3. Stack My Money
4. The Wrong Side Of The Tracks
5. Drip Drop
6. The Cat With 9 Wives
7. Turn You On, Turn Me On
8. Rockabilly Riot
9. Off Your Rocker
10. One Bad Habit
11. Rockabilly Banjo

Brian Setzer - Gotta Have The Rumble Vinyl LP

SKU: 810020505627
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page