top of page
Cat Power - Sun Vinyl 2LP + MP3 Coupon

Cat Power Sun Vinyl 2LP + MP3 Coupon 


Sun is the new studio album from Cat Power. Six years after her last album of original material, Chan Marshall has moved on from her collaborative forays into Memphis soul and Delta blues. She wrote, played, recorded and produced the entirety of Sun by herself, a statement of complete control that is echoed in the songs’ themes.


The music on Sun employs a sweeping stylistic palette: there’s the classic Cat Power haunting guitar and provocative vocal hook in “Cherokee” (“marry me to the sky… bury me upside down”); the irresistible Latin-sounding nine-piano loop of “Ruin”; upbeat, almost dancey electronic anthems like “Real Life” and “3,6,9”; and the stirring, 8-minute epic “Nothin But Time,” featuring a vocal cameo by Iggy Pop. The swagger of “Silent Machine” brings to mind mid-70s Jagger, contrasted with the unusual, sparse production of “Always on My Own.”


The narrative arc of the record is deeply American in its spaciousness and optimism, but the music itself is defiantly modern and global. The 11-song set was mixed by Philippe Zdar (Cassius, Chromeo, Phoenix). 2LP-set with MP3 coupon from Matador Records.


“Chan Marshall’s evolution from lo-fi whisperer to archetypal rock heroine is one of the last decade’s more inspiring stories.” - Spin
Cat Power Sun Track Listing:




1.  Cherokee
2.  Sun
3.  Ruin
4.  3,6,9
5.  Always On My Own
6.  Real Life




1.  Human Being
2.  Manhattan
3.  Silent Machine
4. Nothin But Time
5. Peace And Love

Cat Power - Sun Vinyl 2LP + MP3 Coupon

SKU: 0744861077312
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page