top of page
Daft Punk - Discovery Vinyl 2LP

Daft Punk Discovery Vinyl 2LP


Discovery is the second studio album by French electronic music duo Daft Punk, released internationally 12 March 2001 by Virgin Records. It marks a shift from the Chicago house sound prevalent on their first studio record, Homework (1997), to a house style more heavily inspired by disco, post-disco, garage house, and R&B.


Comparing their stylistic approach to their previous album, band member Thomas Bangalter described Discovery as an exploration of song structures and musical forms whereas Homework was "raw" electronic music. He also described Discovery as a reflection of the duo's childhood memories, when they listened to music with a more playful and innocent viewpoint.


The album was recorded at Bangalter's home in Paris between 1998 and 2000. The album features extensive sampling; some samples are from older records, while others were recorded by Daft Punk playing live instruments themselves. Fellow electronic musicians Romanthony, Todd Edwards, and DJ Sneak collaborated on some tracks both musically and lyrically.


For the album's music videos, the group developed a concept involving the merging of science fiction with the entertainment industry. Inspired by their childhood love for Japanese anime, the duo collaborated with Leiji Matsumoto to produce Interstella 5555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem, an anime film with the entirety of Discovery as the soundtrack. The film features no dialogue, with few sound effects.


Daft Punk Discovery Track Listing:




1. One More Time
2. Aerodynamic
3. Digital Love
4. Harder Better Faster Stronger
5. Crescendolls
6. Nightvision
7. Superhereos




1. High Life
2. Something About Us
3. Voyager
4. Veridis Quo
5. Short Circuit
6. Face To Face
7. Too Long

Daft Punk - Discovery Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 0724384960612
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page