top of page
Dire Straits - The Studio Albums 1978-1991 180g Vinyl 8LP Box Set

Dire Straits The Studio Albums 1978-1991 180g Vinyl 8LP Box Set


4 Albums Mastered by Bernie Grundman & 2 by Bob Ludwig!
Lacquers Cut by Bernie Grundman & Chris Bellman!


Emerging on the scene in 1977, Dire Straits became one of the most commercially successful bands of its time. Led with virtuoso skill by vocalist/guitarist Mark Knopfler, Dire Straits was behind such hits as "Sultans Of Swing", "Brothers In Arms", "Romeo And Juliet", "So Far Away", "Money For Nothing" and "Walk Of Life".


Propelled by Mark Knopfler's literate songs, gruff vocals and spidery guitar work, Dire Straits had overcome initial skepticism for their resistance to '70s new wave accents in favor of their rootsy traditionalism. The band's sound drew from a variety of musical influences, including jazz, folk and blues.

The Dire Straits Complete Studio Albums 1978-1991 box set collects the band's six successful studio albums spanning a time-frame of 13 years.


The box set begins with the band's self-titled debut album, followed by Communique and Making Movies released in 1979 and 1980 respectively. Love Over Gold came next, released two years later in 1982, with the band's most successful effort, Brothers In Arms, arriving in 1985. Dire Straits' 1991 release, On Every Street, came to be the band's final studio album before calling it quits.


Bernie Grundman mastered the first four titles from analogue masters, with lacquers cut by Grundman and Chris Bellman; Brothers In Arms and On Every Street mastered by Bob Ludwig from digital masters, and cut by Chris Bellman. All are pressed on beautiful 180g vinyl. The CD running order with full length versions of the tracks have been restored to Brothers In Arms, now presented as a 2xLP set, as well as a double vinyl of On Every Street.


Dire Straits The Studio Albums 1978-1991 Track Listing:


Dire Straits - 1978


1. Down To The Waterline
2. Water Of Love
3. Setting Me Up
4. Six Blade Knife
5. Southbound Again
6. Sultans Of Swing
7. In The Gallery
8. Wild West End
9. Lions


Communique - 1979


1. Once Upon A Time In The West
2. News
3. Where Do You Think You're Going?
4. Lady Writer
5. Angel Of Mercy
6. Portobello Belle
7. Single Handed Sailor
8. Follow Me Home


Making Movies - 1980


1. Tunnel Of Love
2. Romeo And Juliet
3. Skateaway
4. Expresso Love
5. Hand In Hand
6. Solid Rock
7. Les Boys


Love Over Gold - 1982


1. Telegraph Road
2. Private Investigations
3. Industrial Disease
4. Love Over Gold
5. It Never Rains


Brothers In Arms - 1985 


1. So Far Away
2. Money For Nothing
3. Walk Of Life
4. Your Latest Trick


1. Why Worry
2. Ride Across The River
3. The Man's Too Strong
4. One World
5. Brothers In Arms


On Every Street - 1991 (2LP)


1. Calling Elvis
2. On Every Street
3. When It Comes To You
4. Fade To Black
5. The Bug
6. You And Your Friend


1. Heavy Fuel
2. Iron Hand
3. Ticket To Heaven
4. My Parties
5. Planet Of New Orleans
6. How Long

Dire Straits - The Studio Albums 1978-1991 180g Vinyl 8LP Box Set

SKU: 603497860548
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page