top of page
Pixies - Bossanova Numbered Hybrid SACD

Pixies Bossanova Numbered Hybrid SACD 


Original Analog Masters Located After 18 Years and Used for Remaster

The opening instrumental to Bossanova makes it clear that the Pixies weren't about to take the same crazed approach on their major-label debut as they did on their initial standout efforts, 1987's Surfer Rosa and 1989's Doolittle.


More straightforward, linear, fluid, subtle, and dreamy, Bossanova finds the band exploring pop structures, dropping psychedelic accents, and satisfying surf-rock urges. While it often verges off-the-beaten path, particularly for mainstream tastes circa 1990, the set is the most accessible and hook-ridden record the Pixies ever made.


Black Francis' surreal narratives and breathy delivery flavor tunes like "Is She Weird," "Velouria," and "The Happening," all of which sonically and/or lyrically tie into themes of aliens and sex. Macabre fixations and noisy outbursts take a backseat to tunefulness, putting a spotlight on Joey Santiago's underrated guitar work and Kim Deal's complementary back-up vocals. Recognizing the changes, producer Gil Norton bestowed Bossanova with spacious dynamics and wide-open arrangements that allow the music to breathe. And does it ever.


The analog masters for Bossanova had been missing for 18 years before finally being located in 2008 in the WEA tape archives in Los Angeles. Mobile Fidelity's release marks the first time that the original 1/2-inch analog master tapes have been used since Bossanova was originally released in August 1990. We don't need to tell you how awful the existing CD format sounds, or about the flatness of the non-remastered 4AD LP reissue.


Be assured that this is the very finest version of Bossanova you will ever hear. At long last, the staggering dimensions of the Pixies' canyon-wide soundscapes and three-dimensional atmospherics of their nuanced vocals are faithfully reproduced.


Pixies Bossanova Track Listing:


1. Cecilia Ann
2. Rock Music
3. Velouria
4. Allison
5. Is She Weird
6. Ana
7. All Over the World
8. Dig for Fire
9. Down to the Well
10. The Happening
11. Blown Away
12. Hang Wire
13. Stormy Weather
14. Havalina

Pixies - Bossanova Numbered Hybrid SACD

SKU: 821797203562
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page