top of page
Prince - Originals 180g Vinyl 2LP

Prince Originals 180g Vinyl 2LP


Prince will forever be remembered as a commanding live performer, chart-topping recording artist and music business revolutionary. Yet for all the time he spent in the spotlight over his four-decade-long career, Prince also worked tirelessly behind the scenes to nurture talent and pen songs fro the rising artists he respected.


Sourced directly from Prince's vast archive of Vault recordings, Originals is a 15-track album featuring 14 previously unreleased recordings that illuminate the vital, behind-the-scenes role Prince played in other artists' careers.


By the mid-1980s, Prince was dominating the charts even as a writer/producer with songs he'd composed and recorded for others. In addition to releasing nine of his most commercially successful full-length albums, he also wrote and recorded endless reels of material for proteges The Time, Vanity 6, Sheila E., Apollonia 6, Jill Jones, the Family, and Mazarati. Occasionally, Prince's original demo recordings would be used as master takes on their albums, with only minor alterations to the instrumentation and a replacement of the vocal tracks.


Other times, artists would rely on his demos to guide them through their own recording process, with Prince's initial take informing their final version of his song. The aggregate effect was a complete saturation and transformation of the pop music landscape, with Prince both leading and subverting mainstream culture.


Prince Originals Track Listing:


LP 1


1. Sex Shooter
2. Jungle Love
3. Manic Monday
4. Noon Rendezvous
5. Make-Up
6. 100 MPH
7. You're My Love
8. Holly Rock


LP 2


1. Baby, You're A Trip
2. The Glamorous Life
3. Gigolos Get Lonely Too
4. Love... Thy Will Be Done
5. Dear Michaelangelo
6. Wouldn't You Love To Love Me?
7. Nothing Compares 2 U

Prince - Originals 180g Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 603497851928
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page