top of page
The Band - The Band 180g Vinyl LP

The Band The Band 180g Vinyl LP


Released September 1969, The Band's second studio album is also known as the Brown Album. Viewed as a concept album, the album includes songs focusing on people, places and traditions associated with an older version of Americana - i.e. "The Night they Drove Old Dixie Down", "King Harvest (Has Surely Come)" , and Richard Manuel's "Jawbone".


The self-titled album was an even more accomplished effort than their first, partially because the players had become a more cohesive unit, and partially because guitarist Robbie Robertson had taken over the songwriting, writing or co-writing all 12 songs. "Up On Cripple Creek" and "King Harvest (Has Surely Come)" remain powerful songs.


"A completely successful major restoration of one the great records of the rock era ... The longer I live, the more I find myself marveling at the beauty of 'Whispering Pines.' It has come to be my favorite song on the record. I have never heard it revealed as cleanly as on this reissue." - analogplanet, Music 10/11, Sound 9/11


The Band The Band Track Listing:


1. Across the Great Divide
2. Rag Mama Rag
3. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
4. When You Awake
5. Up On Cripple Creek
6. Whispering Pines
7. Jemima Surrender
8. Rockin' Chair
9. Look Out Cleveland
10. Jawbone
11. The Unfaithful Servant
12. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)

The Band - The Band 180g Vinyl LP

SKU: 602547206701
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page