top of page
The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - Motown: A Symphony Of Soul Vinyl LP

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Motown: A Symphony Of Soul Vinyl LP


Orchestral Renditions Of Marvin Gaye, Smokey Robinson, The Supremes, The Temptations & More!


A Symphony of Soul is a new album featuring tracks from the storied Motown catalog reimagined with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

Produced by the Grammy-winning Brian Rawling (Cher, One Direction, Rod Stewart), the 11-track set gives a new dimension to some of Motown's best-loved songs.


The new renditions use the original vocal performances by many of the label's most celebrated artists, including the Supremes, the Four Tops, the Temptations, and Smokey Robinson and the Miracles.


Two tracks also feature newly recorded vocals by distinguished British soul stars Mica Paris, who accompanies Jimmy Ruffin on his 1966 classic "What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted," and Beverley Knight, who sings alongside Marvin Gaye on his 1969 version of "Abraham, Martin & John."


The album was recorded with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra at Mark Knopfler's British Grove Studios in west London. A Symphony of Soul complements the musicality of the songs with an orchestral backdrop set against the original vocal stems and parts, typically recorded on a mere four tracks compared to the almost limitless number available in modern recording.


The treatments thus add a new layer to these timeless songs while remaining faithful to the beauty of the originals.


The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Motown With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: A Symphony Of Soul Track Listing:


1. Dancing In The Street - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
2. Reach Out I'll Be There - The Four Tops
3. I Heard It Through The Grapevine - Marvin Gaye
4. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted - Jimmy Ruffin with Mica Paris
5. The Tears Of A Clown - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles
6. I'll Be There - The Jackson 5
7. I Hear A Symphony - The Supremes
8. Abraham, Martin & John - Marvin Gaye with Beverley Knight
9. My Girl - The Temptations
10. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me) - The Temptations
11. With You I'm Born Again - Billy Preston & Syreeta

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - Motown: A Symphony Of Soul Vinyl LP

SKU: 602438789320
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page