top of page
The Waterboys - Where the Action Is 180g Vinyl LP

The Waterboys Where the Action Is 180g Vinyl LP


Following the acclaim of 2017's Out Of All This Blue, The Waterboys return on Cooking Vinyl with the new album, Where The Action Is. Its title inspired by Robert Parker's 1960s mod/northern soul classic, Where The Action Is is a 10-song, genre-defying album, testament to the enduring talents of the band's founder and frontman Mike Scott.


One of the finest British songwriters of the past four decades, his songs have been covered and recorded by artists as far and wide as Prince, Rod Stewart, Tom Jones, Steve Earle, and Ellie Goulding (who had a number three hit with "How Long Will I Love You").


The title track's update of the Parker classic - with lyrics to reflect Mike's own preoccupations - is a cyclone of a song, all swirling Hammond, lead guitar solos played by Steve Wickham on his fuzzboxed-up fiddle, and female vocals provided by the band's fabulous Jess and Zeenie. More visceral rock 'n' roll follows on "London Mick," a tribute to legendary Clash guitarist, Mick Jones. This little stomper is rendered in Mick's own style circa 1977.


A companion piece comes in the shape "Of Ladbroke Grove Symphony," a brilliant paean to the former Bohemian heart of West London. The first single, "Right Side Of Heartbreak (Wrong Side Of Love)," is an understated, yet infectious, soulful number addressing the trials and tribulations of love, and one of the album's standout moments.


Further experimentation can be found on "And There Is Love" (a collaboration with brilliant English producer Simon Dine) and "Take Me There I Will Follow You," with its multi-rhyming lyrics over Brother Paul's beats. The centerpiece of the album is "In My Time On Earth," impassioned, raw and poetic, in which Mike casts a cold eye over the present day cultural landscape. The chorus tells the secret of the heart, a divine mystery which hides in plain sight. 


Diverse in breadth, Where The Action Is is an album of incredible songwriting, experimentation and musical brilliance. It will excite Waterboys fans and new converts alike.


The Waterboys Where the Action Is Track Listing:


1. Where The Action Is
2. London Mick
3. Out Of All This Blue
4. Right Side Of Heartbreak (Wrong Side of Love)
5. In My Time On Earth
6. Ladbroke Grove Symphony
7. Take Me There I Will Follow You
8. And There's Love
9. Then She Made The Lasses O
10. Piper At The Gates Of Dawn

The Waterboys - Where the Action Is 180g Vinyl LP

SKU: 0711297523119
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page