top of page
Townes Van Zandt - Our Mother The Mountain 180g Vinyl LP

Townes Van Zandt Our Mother The Mountain 180g Vinyl LP


Widely considered one of the greatest songwriters of his generation, Townes Van Zandt has been hailed by such artists as Steve Earle, Emmylou Harris, Lyle Lovett and Willie Nelson among others.


Fat Possum proudly reissues four titles from his early career: Townes Van Zandt, Our Mother the Mountain, Delta Momma Blues and Flyin' Shoes which comprise an essential introduction to his best songs. Recorded between 1969 and 1978, Van Zandt's most prolific and most critically acclaimed decade, these four titles are the heart of any serious consideration of Van Zandt's musical career.


Featuring some of the most iconic cover art in album history designed by Milton Glaser, each is a classic in every sense of the word. These four titles are the first in a series of Townes Van Zandt reissues that Fat Posssum is undertaking in conjuction with the Van Zandt estate.


One of the best of Townes Van Zandt's early albums, Our Mother The Mountain's production offers an earnest elegance that wonderfully contrasts the songwriter's dark undertone. Highlights include his artful take on depression "Kathleen" and the tender love songs "Be Here To Love Me" and "Second Lovers Song."


Townes Van Zandt Our Mother The Mountain Track Listing


1. Be Here to Love Me
2. Kathleen
3. She Come and She Touched Me
4. Like a Summer Thursday
5. Our Mother the Mountain
6. Second Lover's Song
7. St. John the Gambler
8. Tecumseh Valley
9. Snake Mountain Blues
10. Why She's Acting This Way

Townes Van Zandt - Our Mother The Mountain 180g Vinyl LP

SKU: 0767981109015
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page