Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
100 Proof (Aged in Soul) - 100 Proof (Aged in Soul) Import Vinyl LP - direct audio

100 Proof (Aged in Soul) - 100 Proof (Aged in Soul) Import Vinyl LP

Demon Records

  • $ 2498

100 Proof (Aged in Soul) 100 Proof (Aged in Soul) Import Vinyl LP

100 Proof (Aged in Soul) was an American funk/soul group, who were formed in Detroit, Michigan, in 1969. They were put together by former Motown songwriting team Holland-Dozier-Holland, signing the group to their new Hot Wax Records label. The group went on to release several hit singles between 1969 and 1972. The biggest of these was "Somebody's Been Sleeping", which reached number 8 on the Billboard Hot 100, sold more than one million copies, and received a gold disc awarded by the R.I.A.A.

The group's first LP, Somebody's Been Sleeping in My Bed, was released by Hot Wax in 1970. Reviewing it in Christgau's Record Guide: Rock Albums of the Seventies (1981), Robert Christgau wrote: "The unidentified lead singer admires (or envies) David Ruffin, and not since early Smokey have so many proverbs and idioms—too many cooks, Johnny comes marching home, love is sweeter the second time around—squeezed onto one album. Plus the complete text of a 'sincere' champagne dinner seduction."

The group broke up in 1973, although the name was re-used for a totally different line-up of musicians for a short period in 1977.

Gritty Detroit group formed in 1969, 100 Proof could be seen as soul's equivalent to the 'supergroups' boasting two of the most distinctive voices of 1960s soul: lead vocalists Joe Stubbs (singing for the Falcons, the Contours and the Originals) and Clyde Wilson (as "Steve Mancha" and established solo artist) This is the group's second and final album released in 1972 on Holland-Dozier-Holland's label Hot Wax Records. The group broke up the following year.

100 Proof (Aged in Soul) 100 Proof (Aged in Soul) Track Listing:

1. Everything Good Is Bad
2. Since You Been Gone
3. Nothing Sweeter Than Love
4. Ghetto Girl
5. Words
6. I Don't Care If I Never Get Over You
7. Don't Scratch Where It Don't Itch
8. Don't You Wake Me
9. Never My Love

We Also Recommend