Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0

Slightly Stoopid - Meanwhile...Back At The Lab Colored Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Stoopid Records

  • $ 2398

Slightly Stoopid Meanwhile...Back At The Lab Colored Vinyl 2LP

The sessions for Ocean Beach, CA based group Slightly Stoopid's latest musical experiment Meanwhile...Back at the Lab began in late 2012, shortly following the band’s seventh studio release Top of the World. The forthcoming album was recorded at the band’s studio, as well as at Platinum Sound, NYC; Rivas Studios, L.A.; Mixdown Town LBC, Long Beach, CA; and was self-produced by the band along with The Lab’s in-house audio engineering maestro James Wisner. 

On one occasion, the band came straight off a “Red-Eye” from their South American Tour to NYC, where Jerry Wonda (The Fugees, Wyclef Jean) engineered an impromptu late night/early morning session at Platinum Sound, yielding the collaborative “Come Around.” Back home, Kyle and Miles also called on their long-time friends and Southern California music icons, Michael “Miguel” Happoldt and Marshall “Ras MG” Goodman, to produce standout tracks “Life Rolls On” and “The Prophet.”

“We’re a touring act, and we’ve been on the road pretty much non-stop over the last decade,” explains Miles, offering that the band’s own local recording studio and rehearsal clubhouse “The Lab at Stoopid Studios” (within the warehouse district of Mission Valley just inland of Ocean Beach), is a key ingredient of what keeps the band’s sound fresh. In fact, the title and album cover reference the band’s collective escape from touring where they have been working on numerous creative and collaborative projects.

“Over the last several years we started our own studio and invested into innovations and equipment upgrades in a quest to capture and progress our ideal signature sound. Having our own studio really enables us to make records at our own pace and to make the right records, hopefully (with a grin) at various stages of our career,” Miles continues. “What’s nice about having our own environment to record in, and analyze the music, is it really lets us keep an organic feel. For Slightly Stoopid, I feel like it’s a step into the next level, as far as understanding the process of recording, understanding the process of songwriting. We took everything that we’ve learned over the years and really put it into this place and into our music.”

Top of the World was the band’s most successful album to date, which entered the Billboard 200 at a career high No. 13 and also hit Billboard’s Independent Albums chart at No. 3, Billboard’s Rock Albums and Alternative Albums charts with a final position of No. 4. In 2013, Slightly Stoopid released the live in-studio CD/DVD Slightly Stoopid & Friends – Live At Roberto’s, recorded with Grateful Dead founding member Bob Weir at his state-of–the-art TRI Studios in San Rafael, CA. The 32-song session included 2 sets (acoustic & electric), guest spots from Ivan Neville and Ian Neville of Dumpstaphunk, Karl Denson, Don Carlos of Black Uhuru, and Bob Weir himself!

Nearly two decades into their artistry, Slightly Stoopid continues to progress into new musical territory, defining their signature sound while creating a contagious feel-good vibe that has its own lifestyle and subculture...and it’s been done entirely on their own terms. Led by co-founders and multi-instrumentalists (guitarists/bassists/vocalists) Kyle McDonald and Miles Doughty, Slightly Stoopid is rounded out by drummer Ryan “Rymo” Moran; percussionist Oguer “OG” Ocon; saxophonist Daniel “Dela” Delacruz; keyboardist Paul Wolstencroft; and trumpet and trombone player Andy Geib; plus special guest and “unofficial 8th member” Karl Denson (The Rolling Stones/Greyboy Allstars) on saxophone.

Slightly Stoopid Meanwhile...Back At The Lab Track Listing:

1. Dabbington
2. This Version
3. The Prophet
4. Hold It Down
5. Fades Away
6. Fuck You (feat. Beardo)
7. Time Won't Wait
8. Rolling Stone
9. Guns in Paradise
10. Come Around
11. Call Me Crazy
12. One Bright Day (feat. Angela Hunte)
13. Life Rolls On
14. What Your Friends Say

We Also Recommend