We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
75 Dollar Bill - I Was Real Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

75 Dollar Bill - I Was Real Vinyl 2LP

Thin Wrist

  • $ 3598

75 Dollar Bill I Was Real Vinyl 2LP

75 Dollar Bill is one of the essential groups at the heart of NYC's underground. Driven by the telepathic union of Che Chen's microtonal electric guitar and Rick Brown's odd metered percussion their long-form sound is unmistakable and compelling. On their third album I Was Real, the group expands in bold new directions, embracing brilliant fuller orchestrations, joyous rockers and entrancing new textures. Having emerged as a vibrant musical force with their previous effort - Wood/Metal/Plastic/Pattern/Rhythm/Rock (2016) - 75 Dollar Bill have spent the last few years bringing their music to new places and people, delivering what NYC locals have known for years, with their dedication to performance in venues of all shapes and sizes.

The fruits of this work can be heard here on their expansive new double-LP I Was Real. The record is enhanced by the presence of eight additional players in various combinations over its nine tracks - but also shows off the duo's strength when stripped down to the core. Requiring a variety of approaches, the album was recorded over a four-year period, in four different studios, with the band's closest associates and collaborators in a range of different ensemble configurations. It also features several "studio as instrument" constructions that harken back to the collage-experiments of the band's early cassette tapes, while at the same time pointing to territories altogether new.

The players involved highlight the "social" aspect of the band and the eight guests that appear on the record are some of the band's closest friends and collaborators. Some pieces were conceived in the band's very early days and others are much newer, but the music is unmistakably 75 Dollar Bill.

Double-LP version presented in a heavy tip-on gatefold jacket with textured clothe wrap and matte foil stamping.

75 Dollar Bill I Was Real Track Listing:

1. Every Last Coffee or Tea
2. C or T (verso)
3. Tetuzi Akiyama
4. I Was Real
5. WZN #3
6. New New/Worm/Like Laundry Suite
7. There's No Such Thing as a King Bee
8. WZN #4
9. WZN #3

We Also Recommend