We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Active Child - In Another Life Vinyl LP - direct audio

Active Child - In Another Life Vinyl LP

Masterworks Records

  • $ 2198

Active Child In Another Life Vinyl LP

In Another Life marks singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer Patrick Grossi aka Active Child's first full-length in five years, ushering in a new chapter in the artist's already critically-acclaimed career. Co-produced by Andrew Sarlo (Bon Iver, Big Thief, Empress Of) and featuring Joey Waronker (Beck, Elliott Smith, R.E.M.) on drums, "Weightless" figures as one of the album's most fervently emotional tracks, detailing what Active Child characterizes as "the desperation to detach from the past."

With its passionate plea, "Weightless" is indicative of In Another Life's overarching narrative, what Active Child describes as a "reflection on the circular passage of time." In part a response to the personal changes in his own life and becoming a father, the 10-track collection is an examination of life, death and the various evolutions that happen between the two. Mirroring the thematic exploration is the music itself, which embodies both the evolution inherent in Active Child's decade's worth of work thus far while marking its latest incarnation. Embracing a wider swath of influences and engineering his own vocals to amplify the power of his voice, the result is an album that exhibits every layer of Active Child's life and career, as he reconciles the personal and artistic evolutions that have culminated in this moment.

"Time and its passage has been something of an obsession with me, and it remains the underlying source of curiosity for both this album specifically and my new music," explains Active Child. "My father said to me recently that in his mind he has been 35 years old for the past 30 years. This really struck me, but it also made complete sense. No matter what point in our lives we are in, we are constantly co-existing with our previous selves and memories."

Active Child In Another Life Track Listing:

1. In Another Life
2. All Eyes On You
3. Set Me Free
4. Color Me
5. Gaze Will Cast A Shadow
6. Spirit Buoy
7. Weightless
8. Brighter Day
9. Painted Staircase
10. Cruel World

We Also Recommend