We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Adele Sebastian - Desert Fairy Princess 180g Import Vinyl LP - direct audio

Adele Sebastian - Desert Fairy Princess 180g Import Vinyl LP

Pure Pleasure Records

  • $ 3498

Adele Sebastian Desert Fairy Princess 180g Import Vinyl LP

Adele Sebastian’s Desert Fairy Princess is an absolutely sublime mystical jazz masterpiece that will transcend you to places you never thought existed. Emphatically an essential must have. The mastering by Ray Staff and the pressing on 180gm Pure Pallas Vinyl have made this title SOUND BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL PRESSING! Not my words, but those of the masterer and label owner. Do not miss this incredible title!

Adele Sebastian was an Afro American jazz flutist and singer, active from the early '70s (when she was still a teenager) until her untimely death at the age of 27 in 1983 from a kidney failure. In fact she had been depending on monthly dialysis to stay alive for years. She lived through and for the music and you can hear it on her only solo album “Desert Fairy Princess” which was first issued in 1981. The mostly acoustic instrumentation brings a very natural and therefore rather retrospective sound considering the year the album was recorded.

Adele and her band pull it off right from the start as if it had been 1966 and it was time for a revolution to shake the dust from the old time jazz. In a perfect way she mixes classic American vocal jazz elements with playful and more free passages, Latin music and tribal African sounds in the lengthy and quite rhythm oriented “Man From Tanganyika” and makes the title track start with a mystical “Allahu akbar“ chant while it turns more and more into a dark and gloomy song with something like a psychedelic edge reminiscent of Pharoah Sanders on his early works. Wild rhythms from drums, percussions with tons of bells and chimes weave a thick groove carpet and conjure a magical atmosphere. Those jazz aficionados who love the mid 60's John Coltrane, his sidekick Pharoah Sanders and Alice Coltrane will go crazy for this album.


Adele Sebastian, flute, vocals
Roberto Miranda, bass
Billy Higgins, drums
Rickey Kelley, marimba
"Daoude" Woods, percussion
Bobby West, piano

Adele Sebastian Desert Fairy Princess Track Listing:

1. Desert Fairy Princess
2. Belize
3. I Felt Spring
4. Man From Tanganyika
5. Day Dreamer
6. Prayer For The People

We Also Recommend