We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Adia Victoria - Silences Vinyl LP - direct audio

Adia Victoria - Silences Vinyl LP

Atlantic Records

  • $ 1798

Adia Victoria Silences Vinyl LP

Adia Victoria's Silences was recorded with Aaron Dessner (The National) at his studio in upstate New York. Throughout the album's 12 tracks, Victoria brings the topics of mental illness, drug addiction, sexism, and all the elements that consume the day-to-day lives of women attempting to make a world of their own. Two years after the release of her critically acclaimed debut Beyond the Bloodhounds, and after a season of dealing with life on tour and a new and more public life around an album campaign, Victoria went inward.

She notes, "I found when I went back home that the thing that disturbed me the most was the lack of activity. Having to deal with myself once again on an intimate level." Reading and literature helped her find her way back in. The title of the album is inspired by Silences, which deals with the myriad ways that the stories of oppressed people have been silenced over the years, even though they continued to create despite being ignored.

"Adia Victoria's gestalt can be summed up in a musical Venn diagram wherein PJ Harvey, Fiona Apple and Hank Williams meet Jack White, Chelsea Wolfe, St. Vincent, Gary Clark Jr. and Patti Smith. Her literate lyrics are sharply observed; direct yet intangible, so the listener can project themselves onto her poetry." - Dangerous Minds

"Adia Victoria is an artist whose deft amalgamation of blues, roots, Afro punk, and country have rendered her one of the most formidable musical talents in recent years." - American Songwriter

"Adia Victoria's voice is powerful and direct, with no artifice." - NPR

Adia Victoria Silences Track Listing:

1. Clean
2. Bring Her Back
3. Pacolet Road
4. The City
5. Different Kind of Love
6. Devil Is A Lie
7. The Needle's Eye
8. Cry Wolf
9. Heathen
10. Nice Folks
11. Dope Queen Blues
12. Get Lonely

We Also Recommend