Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Agnes Obel - Aventine 180g Vinyl LP + CD - direct audio

Agnes Obel - Aventine 180g Vinyl LP + CD

PIAS Records

  • $ 2298

Agnes Obel Aventine 180g Vinyl LP + CD

Aventine, the eagerly anticipated new album from Agnes Obel, will be released in October of 2013 on Play It Again Sam and is the follow up to her critically acclaimed debut album Philharmonics (2010), which sold 450,000 copies across Europe, achieving Platinum status in France and Belgium, Gold status in Holland and five times Platinum status in her native Denmark. Agnes also received five Danish Music Awards (the Danish Brits) in 2011.

Originally from Copenhagen, Agnes has lived in Berlin since 2006, where Aventine was recorded at her Chalk Wood Studios between January and May of 2013. Like Philharmonics, the new album was written, arranged, and produced by Agnes, who provides piano and vocals. Anne Müller, who has also played with Nils Frahm, adds cello, with Mika Posen of Timber Timbre playing the violin and viola on "The Curse," "Pass Them By" and "Fivefold." Robert Kondorossi of Budzillus also plays guitar on "Pass Them By."

"While touring Philharmonics I kept on getting all these ideas for recording, and I wanted to explore the cello and other string instruments“ says Agnes of Aventine. “I recorded everything quite closely, miking everything closely in a small room, with voices here, the piano here – everything is close to you. So it’s sparse, but by varying the dynamic range of the songs I could create almost soundscapes. I was able to make something feel big with just these few instruments.”

Agnes Obel Aventine Track Listing:

1. Chord Left
2. Fuel To Fire
3. Dorian
4. Aventine
5. Run Cried The Crawling
6. Tokka
7. The Curse
8. Pass Them By
9. Words Are Dead
10. Fivefold
11. Smoke & Mirrors

We Also Recommend