Cart 0
Agnes Obel - Citizen of Glass Vinyl LP (Awaiting Repress) - direct audio

Agnes Obel - Citizen of Glass Vinyl LP

PIAS Records

  • $ 2298

Agnes Obel Citizen of Glass Vinyl LP

Citizen Of Glass is the third studio album from Berlin-based Dane Agnes Obel, released October 2016 via Play It Again Sam (PIAS). Citizen Of Glass serves as the follow-up to Obel's UK breakthrough album Aventine and was recorded, produced and mixed by Obel at Aventine-Neukölln and BrandNewMusic-Studios in Berlin.

"The title comes from the German concept of the gläserner bürger, the human or glass citizen," says Obel. "It's actually a legal term about the level of privacy the individual has in a state, and in health it's become a term about how much we know about a person's body or biology or history – if they're completely made of glass we know everything. There's an increasing sense in this world that you have to make yourself a bit of glass. To be willing to open up, use yourself as material, and not just if you're an artist or a musician."

"I worked with the title from the very beginning to push myself to do new things," she continues. "I wanted to push myself conceptually from the starting point, to push the glass theme throughout the songs in different ways – in the lyrics, in the instruments – to do things in a very new way. As an album, it feels bigger to me, a lot bigger."

Agnes Obel Citizen of Glass Track Listing:

1. Stretch Your Eyes
2. Familiar
3. Red Virgin Soil
4. It's Happening Again
5. Stone
6. Trojan Horses
7. Citizen Of Glass
8. Golden Green
9. Grasshopper
10. Mary

We Also Recommend