We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
AJ Lambert - Careful You Vinyl LP - direct audio

AJ Lambert - Careful You Vinyl LP

Alpha Pup Records

  • $ 1998

AJ Lambert Careful You Vinyl LP

AJ Lambert (granddaughter of Frank Sinatra, daughter of Nancy Sinatra) returns to the spotlight with Careful You - featuring ten unique interpretations of handpicked songs from modern artists like Spoon, TV On The Radio, and John Cale, as well as deep cuts from her grandfather Frank Sinatra. The album was recorded with a full band and produced by Daniel Schlett (The War on Drugs, Amen Dunes) and Boshra AlSaadi (TEEN, Janka Nabay).

AJ describes the title track as "a song she takes to be about trying your best to persuade someone to take a chance on love. To me, the song is about the risk you take that you're going to hurt yourself while you're trying to win someone else's heart, all the machinations that can go into that - you want to seem at ease and confident but deep down it feels like life or death." Of her cover of Spoon's "I Summon You," Britt Daniel commented, "If you're gonna cover someone else's song, you'd better be prepared to add something to it that wasn't there before, and it's equally important to find a way to bring your own personality to the performance.

Otherwise what's the point - in today's world, the original version is always readily accessible via the chips embedded into the backs of our skulls. Fortunately, AJ's managed to do both with her reworking of 'I Summon You.' It's a trip to hear my song done this way."

After working as a film music supervisor and bassist in various bands (including Here We Go Magic and a reunion of seminal punk icons The Homosexuals), AJ has emerged as a solo vocalist and recording artist. Her revolving tour of small clubs in New York (Feinstein's 54 Below), Los Angeles (Gardenia), Palm Springs (Purple Room), and Las Vegas showcases her work in a more intimate setting, and she is currently performing complete Sinatra albums like In The Wee Small Hours with John Boswell on piano.

AJ Lambert Careful You Track Listing:

1. Ebb Tide
2. I Summon You
3. Cleo
4. You and Your Sister
5. Sleep Warm
6. Fooled With the Wrong Guy
7. Glad I'm Not A Kennedy
8. I Don't Hurt Anymore
9. I'll Be Seeing You
10. Careful You

We Also Recommend