We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Albert King - Born Under A Bad Sign 180g Import Vinyl LP - direct audio

Albert King - Born Under A Bad Sign 180g Import Vinyl LP

Speakers Corner

  • $ 3898

Albert King Born Under A Bad Sign 180g Import Vinyl LP

High Quality Pure Analogue 180g Virgin Vinyl LP!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 491/500!

The second studio album from Albert King, Born Under A Bad Sign was released in 1967. King's first album for Stax Records would change the face of American music with the modernization of the blues.

It took more than four decades of patient hard work until a discriminating congregation could proclaim Albert King as one of the three kings of the electric blues, alongside B. B. King and Freddie King. Albert had a tough but highly motivated beginning, playing blues on a guitar he had made himself. Later he bought a really good instrument, then came a couple of promising songs, and a series of successful singles made under a contract with Stax Records in Memphis.

Finally, late in life, King landed on the sunny side with "Born Under A Bad Sign". The album became one of the most influential recordings in the history of the blues. King’s music was appreciated by white people too, which smoothed his path out of small clubs and on to big live events.

Right from the title song, he travels along familiar tracks in the blues world, occasionally making a detour to hectic, soulful realms ("Crosscut Saw") and letting himself be carried away by strident winds ("Kansas City"). Over and over again, the musicians surprise one with ever new sound colourings, as in the hum and buzz of "Oh, Pretty Woman", the brusque admonitory "Down Don’t Bother Me", or the swinging fiddling of "The Hunter".

"The Albert King recording of "Born Under A Bad Sign" with Booker T. and the MG's providing the accompaniment, remains one of the most smokingly intense blues recordings of the modern era..." Soulsville U.S.A., The Story of Stax Records

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head.

Albert King Born Under A Bad Sign Track Listing:

1. Born Under A Bad Sign
2. Crosscut Saw
3. Kansas City
4. Oh, Pretty Woman
5. Down Don't Bother Me
6. The Hunter
7. I Almost Lost My Mind
8. Personal Manager
9. Laundromat Blues
10. As The Years Go Passing By
11. The Very Thought Of You

Recorded March 1966 - June 1967 at Stax Studios, Memphis, TN.

We Also Recommend