We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0

Alison Krauss & Union Station - So Long So Wrong on Numbered Limited-Edition 180g 2LP Set from Mobile Fidelity

Mobile Fidelity

  • $ 5998

Alison Krauss & Union Station So Long So Wrong on Numbered Limited-Edition 180g 2LP Set from Mobile Fidelity

Absorbing 1997 Bluegrass Album Remastered from Original Master Tapes

Essential Studio Companion to Live, Available as a 180-gram 3-LP Box Set from Mobile Fidelity!

Call it bluegrass or call it acoustic pop. Either way, Alison Krauss & Union Station have created an incredible montage of music on So Long So Wrong. And, as usual, Krauss' beautiful vocals give the material a traditional "high, lonesome sound."

Of the thirteen vocal songs and one instrumental on this two-record set, Krauss is the lead vocalist on eight while Union Station members share the other lead duties. Comprised of Barry Bales (acoustic bass), Ron Block (banjo, guitar), Adam Steffey (mandolin), and Dan Tyminski (guitar), Union Station is at its virtuosic best, matching Krauss step for step. Standout tracks include "It Doesn't Matter," "Looking in the Eyes of Love," and the gospel-flavored "There is a Reason," all quiet and reflective pieces that demonstrate the haunting, almost angelic quality of Krauss' voice to the fullest extent. In addition, the abundance of group harmonies shows off the vocal prowess of the entire ensemble.

"So Long, So Wrong, originally issued by Rounder in 1997, is another triumph of analog remastering for Mobile Fidelity. The songs—a mix of originals, covers, and public domain entries—emphasize the call of the open road, its sacrifices and solitude, and the unraveling of relationships left in its wake. ...The sound is fast, fat, and ebullient. Bluegrass' cornerstone instruments—fiddle, guitar, banjo, and mandolin—dance off the 180-gram vinyl with a combination of speed and warmth, and detail that doesn't resort to treble hype. So good are the harmonics that there is no question when the versatile Krauss switches over to viola. MoFi¹s generous spreading of the roughly 45 minutes and 14 tracks onto four sides allows for a wide, vivid soundstage and extended response from the acoustic and electric bass. Absolute required listening." -Neil Gader, The Absolute Sound, September 2004

Due to the unmatched resolution of the MFSL Ultra Analog Cutting System, all the acoustic instruments and voices on the record are reproduced with an exceptional sense of space and clarity.

"MoFi has pulled no punches in the mastering of this album. This is an “in your room” release and I have to tell you that you won't believe what your ears are going to tell you when you cue for the first time. This fabulous material, well recorded by Rounder and superbly transferred by MoFi, is one of the best-of-the-best vinyl releases to come along in a long time.” -Richard Foster, HiFi+, Issue 32

Order your copy from direct audio today!

Alison Krauss & Union Station So Long So Wrong Track Listing:

1. So Long So Wrong
2. No Place to Hide
3. Deeper Than Crying
4. I Can Let Go Now
5. The Road Is a Lover 
6. Little Liza Jane
7. t Doesn't Matter
8. Find My Way Back to My Heart
9. I'll Remember You Love in My Prayers
10. Looking in the Eyes of Love
11. Pain of a Troubled Life
12. Happiness
13. Blue Trail of Sorrow
14. There Is a Reason

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review

We Also Recommend