We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Ana Silvera - Oracles Vinyl LP - direct audio

Ana Silvera - Oracles Vinyl LP

Gearbox Records

  • $ 2498

Ana Silvera Oracles Vinyl LP

Poignant, dreamlike and beautiful, and written following the sudden loss of her mother and brother, Oracles was Ana Silvera's way to transmute her grief into a cathartic work of art. In 2011, the song-cycle was debuted with REC, and the following year was performed as part of a sold-out concert on the Roundhouse Main Stage, earning Silvera a nomination for a British Composer Award. She then returned to the Roundhouse Theatre to make a live recording of the piece, which forms her second full-length album.

The recording features Silvera as a soloist, a choir led by Josephine Stephenson and a stellar line-up of guest musicians including pianist Bill Laurance (Snarky Puppy), double bassist Jasper Høiby (Phronesis) and drummer Jacob Smedegaard (Fiction, Du Blonde) as well as Simran Singh (violin), Anne Chauveau-Dhayan (cello) and Naomi Morris (percussion).

The result is a haunting yet life-affirming collection of songs whose lyrics explore loss, love, salvation and the journey towards acceptance, themes that are underscored by beguiling, weaving choral lines, mellifluous Debussian piano melodies, subtly off-kilter percussion and rapturous strings. All is unified by Silvera's dynamic vocal style which evokes the delicate yet theatrical prowess of Kate Bush, combined with what the Arts Desk described as a "Björk-like spontaneity'.

Ana Silvera Oracles Track Listing:

1. Tears Of Oak, Fist Of Willow (The Sorrow)
2. Skeleton Song (The Awakening)
3. When The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter (The Search)
4. Circle of Chalk (The Test)
5. Pearls And Thieves (The Rapture)
6. I Grew Up In A Room, Small As A Penny ( The Returning)
7. Catherine Wheels (Acceptance)

We Also Recommend