Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Ani DiFranco - Red Letter Year Vinyl LP - direct audio

Ani DiFranco - Red Letter Year Vinyl LP

Rightous Babe Records

  • $ 1998

Ani DiFranco Red Letter Year Vinyl LP

The dozen tunes on Ani DiFranco's new studio album Red Letter Year celebrate existence, profess love and condemn religious fundamentalism with an infectious sense of glee. Joining Ani here are producer Napolitano (Joseph Arthur, The Twilight Singers, Squirrel Nut zippers) and a group of guest artists that includes long-time Ani collaborator Jon Hassell (Brian Eno, Peter Gabriel, Ry Cooder) on trumpet and the Rebirth Brass Band, which shines on the Dixieland instrumental "Red Letter Year (reprise)."

Ani's band, which features bassist Todd Sickafoose (who also did the string arrangements), vibraphonist Mike Dillon and drummer Allison Miller, is a major source of Red Letter Year's singular personality. On "Emancipated Minor," Miller's driving beat tethers to Ani's killer electric guitar hook, while Sickafoose's strings add an otherworldly element to the proceedings. Dillon's vibes on "All This" are as rich and open-minded as the little folksinger's defiant lyrics.

Ani DiFranco Red Letter Year Track Listing

1. Red Letter Year
2. Alla This
3. Present/Infant
4. Smiling Underneath
5. Way Tight
6. Emancipated Minor
7. Good Luck
8. The Atom
9. Round A Pole
10. Landing Gear
11. Starmatter
12. Red Letter Year (reprise)

We Also Recommend