Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Annie Lennox - A Christmas Cornucopia: 10th Anniversary Edition Vinyl LP - direct audio

Annie Lennox - A Christmas Cornucopia: 10th Anniversary Edition Vinyl LP

Island Records

  • $ 2598

Annie Lennox A Christmas Cornucopia: 10th Anniversary Edition Vinyl LP

10th Anniversary Vinyl LP Reissue with Brand New Track and New Artwork!

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of 2010's A Christmas Cornucopia, a special edition of Annie Lennox's phenomenal first holiday collection is being released just in time for the 2020-2021 season complete with the brand new track "Dido's Lament" and new artwork. "Dido's Lament" – written by Henry Purcell in the 17th century and arranged by Annie Lennox and Mike Stevens – references the tragic love story of Dido and Aeneas as documented in Virgil's legendary epic poem, The Aeneid, from the 1st century BC.

The music on A Christmas Cornucopia was mostly played by Lennox, in collaboration with co-producer Stevens, and originally recorded in his southwest London studio at the bottom of his garden in 2010. But to achieve the resonance and vibrancy that were integral to Lennox's ideas for these re-energized reboots, the pair also worked with a 30-piece orchestra at Pinewood Studios. And they travelled further afield too: to South Africa, to record with the African Children's Choir, a remarkable organization with which impassioned campaigner and activist Lennox has long had a relationship.

A Christmas Cornucopia is far from a saccharine packaged selection box. As befits its title, it offers an abundant track listing drawn from British, French and German traditions covering the well-known alongside more untrodden ground. Its broad spectrum encompasses a wide range of narratives and emotions – from joyful and celebratory thorough melancholic and haunting to poignant and timely. On "Lullay Lullay," for example, Lennox draws direct links between the Nativity and the plight of Africa's child soldiers.

"I'm absolutely delighted to be releasing the 10th Anniversary of A Christmas Cornucopia. 2020 has been an unprecedented year around the world," Lennox says. "The carols on this album represent continuum, harking back to a time before modern technology, climate emergency, global pandemics, pollution, forest destruction, species extinction and all the challenges our world must urgently deal with in terms of crisis in sustainability. I hope this recording will at least offer some comfort and nostalgia, but also an awareness that political leaders, religious leaders and everyone around the world must face up to the question of how many more Christmases we have left to spend on this blighted earth."

Annie Lennox A Christmas Cornucopia: 10th Anniversary Edition Track Listing:

1. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
2. The First Noel
3. Il Est Ne Le Divin Enfant
4. See Amid the Winter's Snow
5. Silent Night
6. Universal Child
7. Angels from the Realms of Glory
8. The Holly and the Ivy
9. As Joseph Was a Walking
10. Oh Little Town of Bethlehem
11. Lullay Lullay (Coventry Carol)
12. In the Bleak Midwinter
13. Dido's Lament

We Also Recommend