Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Aoife O'Donovan - In The Magic Hour Colored Vinyl LP + Download - direct audio

Aoife O'Donovan - In The Magic Hour Colored Vinyl LP + Download

Yep Roc Records

  • $ 1998

Aoife O'Donovan In The Magic Hour Colored Vinyl LP + Download

Yep Rock Records is pleased to release Aoife O'Donovan's In The Magic Hour, the follow-up to her breakout 2013 solo debut Fossils. Produced by Tucker Martine (Neko Case, The Decemberists), In The Magic Hour features 10 newly-recorded songs, 9 of which were written by O'Donovan, with contributions from an enviable list of collaborators and friends: I'm With Her band mates Sara Watkins and Sarah Jarosz, Chris Thile (Punch Brothers), Nate Query (The Decemberists), Brooklyn Rider, Gabriel Kahane and others.

The songwriting process for In The Magic Hour coincided with the death of Aoife's grandfather, at the age 93. She remembers him as a "gentle soul" in the small Irish village of Clonakilty where he lived. The lyrics on In the Magic Hour are infused with a sense of loss and mortality's dark certainty. But the album is just as much an ode to Aoife's joyful childhood visits to Ireland. The album artwork for In The Magic Hour features a photograph of a seven-year-old Aoife on one such trip, and a faint recording of her grandfather's singing can be heard on the album's track and traditional Irish song "Donal Óg."

In the two years since Fossils was released, Aoife has earned features from NPR and the New York Times and performed everywhere from Bonnaroo to the Grand Ole Opry. She even received a nod from President Barack Obama, who included a track from Fossils on his 2015 Summer Vacation Playlist. The Guardian said Aoife possesses "the ability to surprise an audience with the contrast between her gentle appearance at the microphone and the invisible punch of her performance" and The New York Times said O'Donovan's "first name is hard to pronounce, [but] her voice is easy on the ears."

Aoife O'Donovan In The Magic Hour Track Listing:

1. Stanley Park
2. Magic Hour
3. Porch Light
4. Hornets
5. Magpie
6. Donal Óg
7. The King of All Birds
8. Not The Leaving
9. Detour Sign
10. Jupiter

We Also Recommend