Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Band Of Skulls - By Default Vinyl LP - direct audio

Band Of Skulls - By Default Vinyl LP

BMG Records

  • $ 2198

Band Of Skulls By Default Vinyl LP

U.K. rockers Band of Skulls make their BMG label debut in May 2016 with the release of By Default. Produced by Gil Norton (Pixies, Foo Fighters, Patti Smith) and recorded in Rockfield Studios, By Default is the follow up to 2014's Himalayan which Rolling Stone hailed as "supremely heavy" while Village Voice furthered "Cool enough for hipsters, heavy enough for metal heads, smart enough for muso snobs, Band of Skulls succeed in striking that oft-elusive aural sweet spot for fans of all stripes."

The twelve track collection came about via a conscious decision from the British trio to take a step back from their relentless worldwide touring schedule (having never spent more than a month off the road in the last two ears) to decamp to and write songs in a Southampton Baptist Church-turned-makeshift HQ.

"We went back to square one," says Matt Hayward. In the church – between visits from the vicar, bringing tea and biscuits on his trolley – they found the new songs in hours of woodshedding on ratty old practice amps. "It's definitely a new era," adds Russell Marsden. "The first three records were like a trilogy, a piece of work in of themselves. We wanted to do those things, and we did them all. We took a breath, took a look at what we'd done, and started from scratch again."

Band of Skulls is Russell Marsden (guitar, vocals), Emma Richardson (bass, vocals) and Matt Hayward (drums).

Band Of Skulls By Default Track Listing:

1. Black Magic
2. Back of Beyond
3. Killer
4. Bodies
5. Tropical Disease
6. So Good
7. This Is My Fix
8. Little Mamma
9. Embers
10. In Love By Default
11. Erounds
12. Something

We Also Recommend