We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Barbara Howard - On The Rise Vinyl LP - direct audio

Barbara Howard - On The Rise Vinyl LP

Colemine Records

  • $ 2198

Barbara Howard On The Rise Vinyl LP

Barbara Howard's On The Rise is more than just another rare soul LP. It's a love story. It's a dream. It was an attempt to break through. And although Barbara certainly never became a star, one song did become a staple in rare soul and funk DJ sets, keeping interest in Barbara Howard just under the surface. And as fate would have it in 2016, a sealed copy of the LP would find its way into Plaid Room Records in Loveland, OH and kick start the revival of her story and her music.

In 1968, as an outgrowth of a community movement and talent search program called "Operation Step-Up," Steven Reece wanted to take his community movement to the next level. This is when the idea of founding an independent label came to mind. The idea was to self-produce quality records and through successful sales attempt to land major label distribution. Steve identified Barbara Howard as the talent and set to producing her record. The idea was to produce an LP with a variety of tracks that could be marketed to a variety of radio formats and markets (gospel, pop, soul, jazz).

And while the record fizzled shortly after its release, Steve and Barbara ended up getting married shortly afterwards making this possibly the most romantic production of a record in soul music history. So via Colemine's reissue imprint Remined Records, is the release proper of Barbara Howard's On The Rise.

Barbara Howard On The Rise Track Listing:

1. Light My Fire
2. My Song
3. You've Made Me so Very Happy
4. I Need You
5. Welcome Home
6. Save Your Love for Me
7. Oh Me Oh My (I'm a Fool for You Baby)
8. The Man Above
9. It's Not Unusual
10. For Once in My Life

We Also Recommend