Cart 0
Ben Webster - Gentle Ben on 180g LP - direct audio

Ben Webster - Gentle Ben on 200g LP (Awaiting Repress)

Analogue Productions

  • $ 3498

Ben Webster Gentle Ben on 200g LP

Gentle Ben was recorded just 10 months before Ben Webster's death in 1972. Webster, who had left the United States in 1965 to settle in Europe, first in Copenhagen and then in Amsterdam, was visiting fellow musician and friend Tete Montoliu in Barcelona. Webster and pianist Montoliu went way back, having played together regularly in Webster's Copenhagen days. In fact, Montoliu cited Webster and Don Byas as his two chief musical influences.

Webster and Montoliu understood each other deeply, and their comfort with on another is extremely palpable on this recording. Their accompaniment of one another is seamless. On board with these two is Montoliu's regular working trio-mates, Eric Peter on bass and Peer Wyboris on drums.

There's no shortage of Webster's trademark breathy, fat tenor tone here. In fact, given the sparse arrangement, his rich, humid, giant sax blooms like on very few other recordings. Highlights include "Ben's Blues," "Sweet Georgia Brown," "The Man I Love" and "Don't Blame Me."

Ben Webster Gentle Ben Track Listing:

1. Ben's Blues
2. The Man I Love
3. My Nephew Bent
4. How Long This Has Been Going On
5. Sweet Georgia Brown
6. Don't Blame Me
7. Did You Call
8. Barcelona Shout

We Also Recommend