We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Benjamin Clementine - I Tell A Fly Vinyl 2LP (Backordered) - direct audio

Benjamin Clementine - I Tell A Fly Vinyl 2LP (Backordered)

Virgin Records

  • $ 3498

Benjamin Clementine I Tell A Fly Vinyl 2LP

Acclaimed British singer-songwriter Benjamin Clementine returns with his much anticipated second album, I Tell a Fly. Written, recorded and produced by Clementine, I Tell a Fly finds him exploring new musical territory on the heels of his Mercury Prize-winning debut, At Least for Now (2015). At Least for Now stretched itself across a series of piano ballads with unorthodox structures; I Tell a Fly brings a sense of theatricality and power by using whirling, interwoven instruments throughout the uncompromising release.

While At Least for Now looked inward and backward, Clementine's follow-up looks outward and forward – to a changing world, ancient struggles and the individual response.

The origin of I Tell a Fly lies in a disarmingly strange line Clementine found in his American visa: "an alien of extraordinary abilities." He explains, "I was baffled for about ten minutes when I first saw that visa. But then I thought to myself, I am an alien. I'm a wanderer. In most places I've been, I've always been different.

And so I began to think about the story of a couple of birds, who are in love: one is afraid to go further, and the other is taking a risk, to see what happens." On I Tell a Fly, Clementine uses his personal history as a prism through which to view the world around him (and attempt to make sense of both), musically exploring unknown territories while maintaining a lifeblood that could not be mistaken for the work of anyone other than him.

Benjamin Clementine I Tell A Fly Track Listing:

1. Farewell Sonata
2. God Save The Jungle
3. Better Sorry Than A Safe
4. Phantom Of Aleppoville
5. Paris Cor Blimey
6. Jupiter
7. Ode From Joyce
8. One Awkward Fish
9. By The Ports Of Europe
10. Quintessence
11. Ave Dreamer

We Also Recommend