We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Betty Carter - The Music Never Stops Vinyl LP - direct audio

Betty Carter - The Music Never Stops Vinyl LP

Blue Engine

  • $ 2998

Betty Carter The Music Never Stops Vinyl LP

Blue Engine Records is pleased to release some of the earliest material ever recorded by Jazz at Lincoln Center – jazz trailblazer and vocalist Betty Carter's The Music Never Stops. This live performance at New York's Aaron Davis Hall was recorded in 1992, six years before Carter's untimely passing and during the early days of Jazz at Lincoln Center. The Music Never Stops marks Carter's first posthumous album as well as the artist's first release composed entirely of previously unheard material in 22 years (the last being I'm Yours, You're Mine in 1997).

Carter challenged herself throughout her entire career, but the concert captured on The Music Never Stops represents perhaps the pinnacle of her musical ambitions. Harnessing a full jazz orchestra, a string section, and three distinct piano trios, Carter delivered a stunning tour-de-force performance that until now only lived in the memories of the enthralled and highly responsive audience members who were fortunate enough to have been there. The orchestra Carter enlisted include such stalwarts as Robin Eubanks, Art Baron, Jerry Dodgion, Alex Foster, and Lew Soloff. Pianists John Hicks, Geri Allen, and Cyrus Chestnut; bassists Lisle Atkinson and Ariel Roland; and drummers Kenny Washington, Greg Hutchinson, and Clarence Penn filled out the three swinging rhythm sections.

Betty's magnificent performance was a massive and ambitious undertaking. The Music Never Stops proved to be an apt title, as over the course of two hours it never did. She darted back and forth between the different ensembles, transitioning seamlessly and effortlessly between burning bebop and deeply felt ballads, wearing out the musicians with her stamina. The album highlights the legendary Carter's many talents: mesmerizing balladry, exhilarating swing, impeccable lyricism, stunning improvisation, and her unparalleled ability to build both a narrative and a mood by spontaneously weaving jazz standards and her own genius material together.

For example, a 16-minute medley of what Carter calls "question songs" – "Why Him?," "Where or When," and "What's New?" – takes three seemingly disparate standards and crafts a seamless, epic narrative of love found, lost, and (maybe) found again. Carter's originals like "30 Years" and "Make Him Believe" offer up inventive and unsparing treatments of modern love, challenging gender norms and constructing narrative tapestries in a way that's still visionary today.

Betty Carter The Music Never Stops Track Listing:

1. Ms. B.C.
2. Make It Last
3. Tight! / Mr. Gentleman
4. Social Call
5. 30 Years
6. Why Him? / Where or When / What's New?
7. Moonlight in Vermont
8. The Good Life
9. Bridges
10. If I Should Lose You
11. Most Gentlemen Don't Like Love
12. Make Him Believe
13. Frenesi

We Also Recommend