Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Betty Davis - Betty Davis Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

Betty Davis - Betty Davis Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Light in the Attack Records

  • $ 2398

Betty Davis Betty Davis Vinyl LP

One can hardly imagine the genre-busting, culture-crossing musical magic of Outkast, Prince, Erykah Badu, Rick James, The Roots, or even the early Red Hot Chili Peppers without the influence of R&B pioneer Betty Davis. Her style of raw and revelatory punk-funk defies any notions that women can’t be visionaries in the worlds of rock and pop. In recent years, rappers from Ice Cube to Talib Kweli to Ludacris have rhymed over her intensely strong but sensual music.

In 1973, Betty Davis kicked off her cosmic career with this amazingly progressive hard funk and sweet soul self-titled debut, showcasing her fiercely unique talent with such gems as “If I’m In Luck I Might Get Picked Up” and “Game Is My Middle Name.” The Betty Davis album was recorded with Sly & The Family Stone’s rhythm section, sharply produced by Sly Stone drummer Greg Errico, and features backing vocals from Sylvester and the Pointer Sisters.

Betty Davis Betty Davis Track Listing:

1. If I'm In Luck I Might Get Picked Up
2. Walkin Up The Road
3. Anti Love Song
4. Your Man My Man
5. Ooh Yea
6. Steppin In Her I. Miller Shoes
7. Game Is My Middle Name
8. In The Meantime

We Also Recommend