Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Big Country - The Journey 180g Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) - direct audio

Big Country - The Journey 180g Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock)

Let Them Eat Vinyl

  • $ 2998

Big Country The Journey 180g Vinyl LP

Originally released on Cherry Red Records in 2013, The Journey is Big Country's ninth studio album and their first following the death of lead singer and songwriter, Stuart Adamson in December 2001. Aptly titled, The Journey was issued some two years after Big Country embarked on a new era, when guitarist and founder member Bruce Watson officially invited Mike Peters (The Alarm) to join them as lead vocalist for two concerts to celebrate 30 years since the group's formation. Two years of intense and emotional touring followed and fans and critics alike responded positively.

Mike Peters has had a long and heartfelt association with Big Country. He first met Adamson in 1983 and was with him at his last ever Big Country show at Glasgow's Barrowlands in 2000. Mike, who has fought and won two very public battles with cancer himself, also credits the words of "In A Big Country" as literally inspiring him to "Stay Alive" during his illnesses.

Peters wrote 99% of the lyrics for The Journey, a challenge he accepted in the knowledge that it would mean having to look into the soul of the band's original lyricist whose words revealed someone who was at once both positive and pessimistic. Moreover, Mike realized the importance of following the formula for all of the great Big Country songs, which started life as instrumentals; a guitar phrase from founder member Bruce Watson or a drum break and piano melody by Mark Brzezicki, with lyrics and vocal melody coming after the music had been created by the band as a unit.

Mike explained,"There are themes of redemption and of coming to terms with a life lived all through this record, and the process has brought us together as a family united and ready to stand proud for what and who we are...Big Country." Mark Brezezicki added, "I am looking forward to the next Big Country chapter..it feels right and fitting that Big Country continue the journey...and as Stuart always said, "When taking a journey, it's not about the getting there, it's enjoying the view on the way."

Big Country The Journey Track Listing:

1. In a Broken Promise Land
2. The Journey
3. After the Flood
4. Hurt
5. Home of the Brave
6. Angels and Promises
7. Strong (All Through This Land)
8. Last Ship Sails
9. Another Country
10. Return
11. Winter Fire
12. Hail and Farewell

We Also Recommend