Cart 0
Bill Evans - New Jazz Conceptions on LP - direct audio

Bill Evans - New Jazz Conceptions Vinyl LP

Fantasy Records

  • $ 1998

Bill Evans New Jazz Conceptions Vinyl LP

At the time this album was recorded in 1956, Bill Evans was a pianist known only to a few insiders and those fans who had heard him featured with George Russell and Tony Scott (it would be more than a year before he first gained notice as part of the celebrated Miles Davis Sextet). An introverted personality who felt unready for the spotlight, Evans had to be persuaded that his personal harmonic and rhythmic sense and his profound lyricism were worthy of a full showcase on one of the era's leading independent labels.

Fortunately he consented and this strong session, featuring future Evans trio drummer Paul Motian and the initial recording of signature compositions "Waltz for Debby" and "Five," turned out to be the first chapter in one of the most acclaimed and influential careers in the history of jazz and the piano trio. It is easy to hear in these highly individual trio and solo treatments a clear prophecy of the rich inventiveness that so deeply influenced Herbie Hancock, Chick Corea, Keith Jarrett, and an entire generation of jazz pianists.

Bill Evans New Jazz Conceptions Track Listing:

1. I Love You
2. Five
3. I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good
4. Conception
5. Easy Living
6. Displacement
7. Speak Low
8. Waltz For Debby
9. Our Delight
10. My Romance
11. No Cover, No Minimum

We Also Recommend