Cart 0
Bjork - Bastards (Biophilia Remixes) on 2LP + MP3 Coupon (Awaiting Repress) - direct audio

Bjork - Bastards (Biophilia Remixes) Vinyl 2LP + MP3 Coupon

One Little Indian Records

  • $ 2498

Bjork Bastards (Biophilia Remixes) Vinyl 2LP + MP3 Coupon

One Little Indian presents Bastards, an album of remixed tracks from Björk's 2011 album Biophilia. Bastard includes some of the remixes released by Björk in an eight-part series in 2012, remastered for this album by Grammy-nominee Mandy Parnell. The 13-song set features collaborations with artists and producers specifically chosen by Björk including Current Value, Death Grips, Hudson Mohawke, Alva Noto, Matthew Herbert, Omar Souleyman, 16-bit, These New Puritans, and The Slips.

The original Biophilia album was released in 2011 to critical acclaim. The New York Times raved, "the new songs juxtapose hovering textures of choir and organ with sparse pointillism and sudden eruptions of breakbeat drumming, all set against Björk's idiosyncratic melodies: pithy or sustained, pausing unexpectedly and then snaking upward and opening out to a banshee wail."

"I felt it important to gather together the essence of the remixes," explains Björk of the project, "so I picked a quarter of them for one (release) for people who are perhaps not too sassy downloaders or don't have the time or energy to partake in the hunter-gathering rituals of the internet. I was incredibly impressed by how the core of the mixes took Biophilia somewhere else while still keeping its character, and like so often do when at their best; the remixes gave the songs more beats; legs to dance on! I spent some time editing together not necessarily the best ones but the ones that made the strongest whole." Vinyl version comes with MP3 coupon.

Bjork Bastards (Biophilia Remixes) Track Listing:

1. Crystalline (Omar Souleyman Remix)
2. Virus (Hudson Mohawke ‘Peaches & Guacamol’ Rework)
3. Sacrifice (Death Grips Remix)
4. Sacrifice (Matthew Herbert ‘Pins & Needles’ Remix)
5. Mutual Core (These New Puritans Remix Ft Soloman Is. Song)
6. Hollow (16-bit Remix)
7. Mutual Core (Matthew Herbert’s ‘Teutonic Plates’ Mix)
8. Thunderbolt (Death Grips Remix)
9. Dark Matter (Alva Noto Remodel)
10. Thunderbolt (Omar Souleyman Remix)
11. Solstice (Current Value Remix)
12. Moon (The Slips Remix)
13. Crystalline (Matthew Herbert Remix)

We Also Recommend