Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Black Flag - Family Man on Vinyl LP - direct audio

Black Flag - Family Man on Vinyl LP

SST Records

  • $ 2498

Black Flag Family Man on Vinyl LP

Recorded in 1984, as the band was abandoning punk for a sort of jazz- and hardcore-tinged version of heavy metal, the album literally splits the band into two halves. Side one is a collection of unaccompanied poetry readings and spoken-word pieces by Henry Rollins, who at the time was just beginning his long career as a poet/essayist. The pieces are a combination of sociopolitical broadsides, many of which are punctuated with disturbing images, and wry, self-deprecating, and humorous bits of the kind he would continue to explore in his non-musical work in the future. Side two is made up of instrumentals by the rest of Black Flag, drummer Bill Stevenson, bassist Kira Roessler, and guitarist Greg Ginn, whose metal-edged solos dominate the varied-length songs.

Black Flag Family Man Track Listing:

1. Family Man
2. Salt on a Slug
3. Hollywood Diary
4. Let Your Fingers Do the Walking
5. Shed Reading (Rattus Norvegicus)
6. No Deposit - No Return
7. Armageddon Man
8. Long Lost Dog of It
9. I Won't Stick Any of You Unless and Until I Can Stick All of You!
10. Account for What?
11. Pups Are Doggin' It

We Also Recommend