Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Broadcast Berberian Sound Studio: Original Soundtrack Vinyl LP + Download - direct audio

Broadcast Berberian Sound Studio: Original Soundtrack Vinyl LP + Download

Warp Records

  • $ 1998

Broadcast Berberian Sound Studio: Original Soundtrack Vinyl LP + Download

Warp Records presents Broadcast's original soundtrack that accompanied the recent Warp Film Berberian Sound Studio, Peter Strickland’s brilliant homage to 1970s Italian horror.

The film's integral soundtrack was composed by Broadcast before Trish Keenan's untimely passing in 2011. Initially conceived as the soundtrack to The Equestrian Vortex, the film-within-a-film around which Berberian Sound Studio unfolds, this collection of compositions would eventually spill outwards to encapsulate the entire world Strickland creates in the film. On it’s own, the music sets a sinister and atmospheric tone that still exists well within Broadcast’s sonic universe.

The film’s plot, which involves a British sound recordist’s slowly degenerating mental state while working in an Italian film studio, has clearly been one driving force behind the music as has the work of pioneering Italian composers such as Ennio Morricone and Bruno Nicolai. Working closely with Strickland as well as the film’s supervising sound editor Joakim Sundstrom, Cargill wove in sound effects, screams and snatches of dialogue in order to bring elements of the film back into the soundtrack.

The outcome is the rare piece of film music that not only enhances the visual, but exists on it’s own as an independent work, and one that is an invaluable edition to Broadcast’s inimitable history.

Film Synopsis:

"It’s 1976 and timid, Dorking-based sound engineer, Gilderoy, has been transplanted to Italy’s run-down Berberian Sound Studio to work on “The Equestrian Vortex”, the latest low-budget horror movie by notorious exploitation maestro Giancarlo Santini. Gilderoy’s task is a seemingly simple one: to create, record and mix the sounds of bloodcurdling screams, limbs being severed and the insertion of red hot pokers into human orifices, mostly using a variety of everyday household items such as old vegetables and a hammer."

Broadcast Berberian Sound Studio: Original Soundtrack Track Listing:

1. A Breeze Through the Burford Spur
2. The Equestrian Vortex
3. Beautiful Hair
4. Malleus Maleficarum
5. Mark of the Devil
6. Confession Modulation
7. Monica’s Fall
8. Teresa’s Song (Sorrow)
9. The North Downs Dimension
10. Collatina is Coming
11. Such Tender Things
12. Teresa, Lark of Ascension
13. Monica’s Burial (Under the Junipers)
14. Found Scalded, Found Drowned
15. Monica (Her Parents Have Been Informed)
16. The Fifth Claw
17. Saducismus Triumphatus
18. The Gallops
19. They’re Here, They’re Under Us
20. Collatina, Mark of Damnation
21. Treatise
22. A Goblin
23. The Equestrian Library
24. The Serpent’s Semen
25. Burnt at the Stake
26. All Chiffchaffs
27. The Curfew After the Massacre
28. Poultry In Mind
29. The Sacred marriage
30. Valeria’s Burial (Under the Fort)
31. Edda’s Burial (Under the Clumps)
32. The Game’s Up
33. It Must’ve Been the Magpies
34. The Dormitory Window
35. Anima di Cristo
36. His World is My Shed
37. Collatina’s Folly
38. Here Comes the Sabbath, There Goes the Cross
39. Our Darkest Sabbath

We Also Recommend