Cart 0
Brooklyn Rider - The Brooklyn Rider Almanac on 2LP - direct audio

Brooklyn Rider - The Brooklyn Rider Almanac Vinyl 2LP

Mercury Records

  • $ 3898

Brooklyn Rider The Brooklyn Rider Almanac Vinyl 2LP

Hailed as “the future of chamber music” (Strings), the game-changing string quartet Brooklyn Rider presents eclectic repertoire in gripping performances that continue to draw rave reviews from classical, world, and rock critics alike. NPR credits Brooklyn Rider with “recreating the 300-year-old form of string quartet as a vital and creative 21st-century ensemble”; the Los Angeles Times dubs the group “one of the wonders of contemporary music”; and Vice likens its members to “motocross daredevils who never screw up a stunt.”

Equally at home in clubs and concert halls, the quartet has played venues as varied as Carnegie’s Zankel Hall, the San Francisco Jazz Festival, Le Poisson Rouge, Japan’s Todai-ji, Lincoln Center, Brooklyn’s Littlefield, the Library of Congress, the Telluride Bluegrass Festival, and South by Southwest. Through visionary programming and global collaborations, Brooklyn Rider’s “down-to-earth demeanor...demystifies contemporary classical music and invites everyone into the tent” (Time Out New York).

Brooklyn Rider will celebrate its 10th anniversary with its most ambitious venture to date, Brooklyn Rider Almanac. The Mercury Classics release forms the centerpiece of a groundbreaking multi-disciplinary project for which the quartet commissioned 15 new works, each inspired by a respective artistic muse, from composers ranging from Wilco’s Glenn Kotche of indie rock fame to jazz icon Bill Frisell. Like the quartet’s name, the project was inspired in equal parts by the cross-disciplinary vision of Der Blaue Reiter (“The Blue Rider”), the pre-World War I Munich-based artistic collective, and the exploding array of cultures and artistic energy found in the group’s Brooklyn home.


Johnny Gandelsman, violin
Colin Jacobsen, violin
Nicholas Cords, viola
Eric Jacobsen, cello

Brooklyn Rider The Brooklyn Rider Almanac Track Listing:


1. Necessary Henry!
2. Maintenance Music
3. Morris Dance
4. Dig The Say
5. Show Me
6. The Haring Escape


1. Exit
2. Quartet, Parts One & Two
3. Five-Legged Cat
4. Simpson's Gap
5. Ping Pong Fumble Thaw
6. Tralala
7. John Steinbeck

We Also Recommend