Cart 0
Bruckner - Symphony No. 4 - Honeck - Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra on Hybrid SACD - direct audio

Bruckner - Symphony No. 4 - Honeck - Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra on Hybrid SACD

Reference Recordings

  • $ 1999

Bruckner Symphony No. 4 - Honeck - Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra on Hybrid SACD from Reference Recordings

2016 Grammy Nominee! The Third Release in SACD Series with the Pittsburgh Symphony!

Thrilling Live Performances in Brilliant Audiophile Sound!

Anton Bruckner is known as a deeply religious composer whose Catholic spirituality is prominent in his music, particularly his later symphonies. However, his Symphony No. 4 in e-flat major (“Romantic”) is one of his most secular, most influenced by nature and most popular works. The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and Music director Manfred Honeck offer a bold new interpretation of this great music, breaking Bruckner out of the strictly interpreted box in which he is often placed.

Here, the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and Honeck present the 1878/80 version, the same version that was used for the symphony’s premiere in 1881.

This release is the third in the highly acclaimed “Pittsburgh Live!” series of multi-channel hybrid SACD releases on the Fresh! series from Reference Recordings. The previous release, “Dvorák/Janacek” (FRSAM710), has received a Grammy® nomination along with numerous critical accolades.

For more than 119 years, the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra has been known for its artistic excellence. The PSO has a rich history of the world's finest conductors and musicians. Past conductors include the legendary names of Reiner, Steinberg, Previn, Maazel, and other greats. This tradition was furthered in fall 2008, when celebrated Austrian conductor Manfred Honeck became Music Director of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

The PSO has been at the forefront of championing new American works, and gave the first performance of Leonard Bernstein’s Symphony No. 1 “Jeremiah” in 1944. The Pittsburgh Symphony has a long and illustrious history in the areas of recordings and radio concerts. As early as 1936, the Pittsburgh Symphony broadcast on the airwaves coast-to-coast and in the late 1970s it made the groundbreaking PBS series “Previn and the Pittsburgh.”

This release and the entire "Pittsburgh Live!" series are recorded and mastered by the team at Soundmirror, whose outstanding orchestral, solo, opera, and chamber recordings have received over 70 Grammy nominations and awards! Soundmirror has recorded for every major classical record label, now including Reference Recordings.


• Super Audio CD
• SACD 5.1 Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Mastered at Soundmirror


Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
Manfred Honeck, Music Director

Bruckner - Symphony No. 4 - Honeck - Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra Track Listing:

1. Bewegt, nicht zu schnell
2. Andante quasi Allegretto
3. Scherzo: Bewegt - Trio. Nicht zu schnell. Keinesfalls schleppend
4. Finale: Bewegt doch nicht zu schnell

We Also Recommend