Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Burzum - Belus on Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Burzum - Belus on Vinyl 2LP

Back on Black Records

  • $ 3598

Burzum Belus on Vinyl 2LP

To fans and extreme metal followers, the early Burzum years facilitated the rise of the initial wave of Norwegian black metal. It was in this period that the world would come to bear witness to the initial trinity of recordings. Each set a standard that, alongside Darkthrone, early Mayhem and the initial recordings from Emperor, remain today as genre-setting sounds. It is in the second period that Varg Vikernes began to experiment more with not only sound but a growing musical conception that would travel far beyond the barriers of metal.

Reaching further into the realms of ambient, dark wave and electronica, Vikernes infused the savagery of his blasphemous metal offerings with the complex throes of synthesizers and computer-assisted musical composition. This second period of releases were all recorded while he was imprisoned for the murder of Øystein Aarseth (aka Euronymous - founding member of Mayhem) and arson of three Norwegian stave churches.

2010's Belus marked Burzum's first release after an 11-year recording hiatus and the first studio album following Varg Vikernes' parole from prison after serving 15 years of a 21-year sentence. Entitled Belus after the name of the ancient European solar deity of light and innocence, Belus' sound and music can best be compared to the music of some of the old Burzum albums; in particular the groundbreaking Hvis Lyset tar Oss and the atmospheric brilliances of Filosofem, only the ambient parts present on these albums has been almost completely shelved here for hard hitting and melodic guitar.

"I am aware of the black metal association with the name Burzum, and I have no real and serious problem with that, but I personally see no reason to place Belus in any category. I think Belus musically transcends all existing categories, but if I have to choose one - and for the sake of simplicity - I will simply place it in the metal category." - Varg Vikernes

Burzum Belus Track Listing:

1. Lukans Renkespill (Introduction)
2. Belus Doed iii. Glemselens Elv
3. Kaimadalthas Nedstigning
4. Sverddans
5. Keilohesten
6. Morgenroede
7. Belus' Tilbakekomst (Konklusjon)

We Also Recommend