We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Caetano Veloso - Transa 180g Import Vinyl LP (Backordered) - direct audio

Caetano Veloso - Transa 180g Import Vinyl LP (Backordered)

Elemental Records

  • $ 2798

Caetano Veloso Transa 180g Import Vinyl LP

1972's Transa is generally regarded as a classic and was recorded while leading Tropicalia artist Caetano Veloso was exiled in London, though he returned to Brazil shortly after it completeion. The sound of ‘70s electric rock predominates, fused with Brazilian rhythms and percussion, berimbau sounds, and his own violão playing. It offers enough Western styles to keep outsiders interested but also sounds undoubtedly Brazilian.

It also helps that it features such strong numbers as "You Don't Know Me," "Nine out of Ten" (his best song in English according to Caetano himself), "Neolithic Man" and "Mora Na Filosofia" (a song that originally caused uproar thanks to its rock treatment of a classic samba).

"Nostalgia (That's What Rock ‘n' Roll Is All About)" can also be seen as the template for Devendra Banhart's first albums. Transa was listed by Rolling Stone Brasil as one of the 10 best Brazilian albums ever and Pitchfork elected "You Don't Know Me" as the 73rd best song of the '70s.

Caetano Veloso Transa Track Listing:

1. You Don't Know Me
2. Nine Out Of Ten
3. Triste Bahia
4. It's A Long Way
5. Mora Na Filosofia
6. Neolithic Man
7. Nostalgia (That's What Rock'n Roll Is All About)

We Also Recommend